Notices
Motorsports The Z in its Natural Habitat

300ZX, 300ZXTT, 3000GT VR4, M3, Mustang GT, Firehawk

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2003, 08:16 PM
syf0n

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 300ZX, 300ZXTT, 3000GT VR4, M3, Mustang GT, Firehawk

I have finally decided to write something in this forum. So this is stuff from the past two weeks, mostly at the 1/8th strip in Savannah. I am new to drag racing, my background is more or less European cars and autocross style road-course racing. So feel free to ask me questions, but I'm not too good on details with these cars.

300ZX
This was a Z31 (1989 I think). It was the first car I raced at the drag strip I had a shitty launch and redlnied in second, but everyone who saw it said even when I was spinning, I was spinning past the guy in the 300. The second time I ran him I had him by about 6 car lengths. He was almost a second behind me.

300ZXTT
I know the only reason I beat this car was reaction time. Even so, it was pretty even the whole way.

3000GT VR4
Same as above. The guy who owns it is one of my best friends. Technically he should have been doing a good number on me, but to no avail! I absolutely schooled him every time I raced him. Better reaction time, and I noticed even when we had similar times my exit speed was 10+MPH higher than his! I guess we have a higher gear ratio. The last time we raced he started to pull away but missed third so I sped right past He just had a new engine dropped into his car, I know it won't be so easy next time.

M3
This was a Black 1998 M3. We stayed more or less even the whole way down the strip and I beat him by 1/10th of a second. Not much to comment here, I don't know much about the car.

Mustang GT
I beat this guy by two car lengths. I think these cars really come down to driver. This was my last race of the night and probably one of his first...but it definitely hops. I am just glad he wasn't warmed up, or more skilled, or whatever.

Firehawk