Notices
Nitrous Oxide Too soon, jr.

High compression or low with spray?

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2009, 01:27 PM
mtm864

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default High compression or low with spray?

Hello all,

I have a quick question and i need some advice on a few things. I am in the process of building my 03 bottom end and i was wondering which would be the best route to go. I want to turbo it but i will resort to nitrous for the time being. Should i go high compression 11:0:1 and spray ? Or go 8:8:1 and spray? Like i mentioned before i want to turbo but that will be in the far future and i dont want it to be a complete slug until then. Thank you for your time and suggestions. Oh and i will be running 93 octane all the time, and ocassionally 110 race gas for the thurs-sat nights
Old 08-11-2009, 01:51 PM
Ragingbull350Z

I'm far from an expert on this topic, but from what I've read up.....Spray likes higher compression. This site is like my bible, search a bit and all of life's questions will be answered
Old 08-11-2009, 03:16 PM
mtm864

Originally Posted by dave079
Moved..........

Please dont post this in the general section. We have subforums for reasons
sorry wasnt sure what topic this woul fall under
Old 08-11-2009, 03:48 PM
3hree5ive0ero
Retired Admin

Received 78 Likes on 50 Posts

You have "spray" in your title, which would indicate that this is nitrous related.....

Anyway, to answer your question, it all depends on what you're wanting:

There will be more strain on various internal components and other parts with higher compression engine whereas the lower compression engine will not experience as much strain. However, the lower compression engine will be slower on the bottle than a higher compression engine. The higher compression engine tends to output more power than the lower compression engine, thanks to cooling effect of nitrous among other things.