Notices
North Central Wisconsin, Michigan, Ohio, Illinois , Indiana, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Iowa

Chicago and other northern owners...help!

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2012, 05:51 AM
Wazmo

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Chicago and other northern owners...help!

Hello neighbors of the North!

I am moving from Atlanta to Chicago at the end of the month and need some assistance on what to do with the Z. I have a base Z with some minor mods right now. I was wondering what people do with their Z once winter rolls around since I am born and raised in the South. Should I sell it down here and get something else? Should I try to brave the winter roads with it? I am new to this whole snow thing and the car hates rain, I can't imagine the slush y'all end up with.

Thank you all in advance!!!
Old 01-05-2012, 07:04 AM
drivessidewayz

Those of us with enough extra money buy a reliable dd, and those of us who simply don't want to drive the Z during the winter buy a winter beater. Another option, winter tires make a world of different while driving the Z in snow; I loved my Nokian Hakapellittas (yea, pretty sure that's spelled wrong, but whatever).
Old 01-05-2012, 10:02 AM
ErkTheJerk73

Received 718 Likes on 427 Posts

if you have never driven in the snow, i suggest getting a car that can do it well. even with snow tires i think you would have a hard time. not trying to be personal, but just assuming
Old 01-05-2012, 05:44 PM
DarkZ03

Received 487 Likes on 407 Posts

Only way to drive it is with winter tires, I've done it 3 years but I have a touring which has VDC so I cant speak for the base models.
Old 01-06-2012, 04:49 AM
Wazmo