Notices
Photography Techniques, Cameras, Lenses, & Equipment

SLR noob here. Help choosing between the two!

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2009, 10:04 PM
mikeSSD

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SLR noob here. Help choosing between the two!

Hey guys,

After some considerable thought and after being fascinated by many pictures.... I decided to invest in a SLR camera. I went to Bestbuy today and played around with the Canon EOS Rebel XS w/ the 18-55mm IS lens & the Nikon D60 w/ the VR 18-55mm lens. I like them both...the Bestbuy employee told me the only differences between the two is that the Canon offers a little more features and has the live view. I have always appreciated great picture taking and art and am really considering taking up photography as a hobby. I know the everlasting debates on Canon and Nikon still continue, but just between these two models which one would you guys recommend? Quality and performance wise? Both fall in my budget. Thanks!

Bestbuy is selling the Canon for 549.99 (until Saturday) & the Nikon for 599.99

Update: I'm thinking about getting the D80 w/ the 18-135mm lens for about 800$ new. what do you think???

Last edited by mikeSSD; 03-15-2009 at 12:34 PM.
Old 03-12-2009, 12:28 AM
dj.kickz

I am by far probably the least qualified person in this section of the boards to answer this question but from what I've seen at the lowest price point and at the extremely high end cannon does a better job and somewhere in the middle Nikon is better. At your price I'd go with cannon but i wouldn't buy either from best buy as I'm sure you can get a better deal on amazon. Also if I was going to start over I'd skip on the Cannon XS, XTI, XSI series (I've got an XTI, and i'd trade it for a 20D or 30D if i could) and go straight for the 20D 30D 40D series, even if it means getting an older model with less megapixels.
Old 03-12-2009, 01:24 AM
mikeSSD