Notices
Tuning Reflashes, Piggybacks, Standalone ECUs

UTEC and MAP sensor???

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2006, 05:40 PM
Quamen

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default UTEC and MAP sensor???

Ok everyone, I know that this subject has been beaten to death by many, but my question is regarding using a MAP sensor to control an NA engine.

Can it be done?

By that I mean can it be done period. Not with the UTEC presently, but could the UTEC be altered to rely soly on a MAP sensor?

If not, could the HKS Fcon control the engine soley by MAP sensor or any other engine management for that matter?

From my understanding, the UTEC could control an NA car via MAP sensor but only past a certian throttle position if not just WOT. Therefore this would make idle and light driving hard. Plus I remember reading that the tuning resolution is not too great below 0psi on the UTEC.

Thanks!
Old 09-09-2006, 10:10 PM
SmokyTyrz

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm new to this myself, having just installed my UTEC today. I'll be using MAF pulldown until I am more comfortable with the system..

You have a good question. I of course am not willing to just try it, but I'm sure someone here can tell us if you can use :

Open Loop Fuelling = 1
Fuel Mode = 0
Load Indicator = 0

And then tune injector on-time...

My guess is that setting the fuel-mode to 0 and/or load indicator to 0 would disable the injector map and enable the MAF pulldown map.

But if that is the case then what does it mean when you use open-loop fuelling with fuel mode = MAF? Does this only enable the open fuelling parameters for setup so you can scale injectors and/or modify the rev limit (eg. if you were NA with larger injectors, such as a spec-2 or 3 NA w/ internals)?

As I understand it though, you cannot use MAP (Speed Density mode) with NA because the sensor will never see more than 5v (5psi) or something like that. So using MAP with NA does not allow you to tune beyond the 50% load site.