Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2007, 08:19 PM
GC71

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advise on EMS

Hi All,

I am undecided on getting either the HKS F-Con Vpro or Utec for my 03 Z

Heres some addtional info :

Mods on the car when being tuned would be full exhaust(incl. test pipes), pulleys, plenum spacer and K&N drop in. I am not planning on going FI or cams etc. the EMS will be the final(I hope) engine performance mod.

I live in Singapore and hence there is no one who can professionally tune the Utec,whereas the F-Con will be tuned by an authorised tuner who will be doing more of a road tune ie with little use of a dyno.

Questions I have are :

1. Would installing an F-con be overkill for my mods?

2. Would I be able to tune the Utec myself without the use of a dyno? I am not a pro-tuner, but have a basic understanding of tuning and would use pre-loaded maps, road tune, then go on a dyno to fine tune.

3. Based on my mods, would the F-Con which is considerably more costly yeild considerably more gains then the Utec?

4. I was told by the HKS tuner that if I was to use the F-Con, I would have to change my intake into an open pod with an enlarged intake pipe to increase air mass(I thought it was more abt. intake temp.) so as to optimise the F-con is this true?

5. I was also told by the HKS tuner that overall expected gains from all my mods would be around 20-30whps. What would be more significant would be the change in the overall powerband which would make the car much more responsive. I was a little bit dissapointed to hear this and would like to know if this is also true and if not, then what would be the estimated power gains I would be looking at?

I was actually more inclined to getting the Utec as I like the idea of being able to datalog and do self-tuning which is part of the enjoyment of owning a Z which is a car for auto-enthusiast. But I also have concerns on not having professional assistance available here which is why I am considering the F-Con.