Notices
VQ35HR Mods and Support related to the 2007/08 High Revving VQ

Can't Remove Stock Cats. Help!

Old 09-23-2008, 06:38 AM
  #41  
fstrnldr
Registered User
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 165
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

no its not threaded if you break the bolt, or cut it off, it will slip right out.

and just out of curiosity GTM said they couldn't remove it? or was there a time issues ... couple of posts seem to have conflicting info.
fstrnldr is offline  
Old 09-23-2008, 09:45 PM
  #42  
infinite
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
infinite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Posts: 658
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by fstrnldr View Post
no its not threaded if you break the bolt, or cut it off, it will slip right out.

and just out of curiosity GTM said they couldn't remove it? or was there a time issues ... couple of posts seem to have conflicting info.
they said the bolt is stripping, and they'll have to remove the headers and keep the car overnight and that it will cost me much more than the $163 they quoted me.

I figured that they can get the job done, at the price they said... but I guess they couldn't hack it.

They worked on my car for 2 hours
infinite is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 11:31 PM
  #43  
aloh
Registered User
iTrader: (26)
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: socal
Posts: 4,190
Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
Default

oh man...stock cat drama...

Ive been there. Baad horror story too.
aloh is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 03:52 PM
  #44  
infinite
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
infinite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Posts: 658
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by aloh View Post
oh man...stock cat drama...

Ive been there. Baad horror story too.
how did yours end?
infinite is offline  
Old 09-27-2008, 10:13 AM
  #45  
infinite
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
infinite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Posts: 658
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Doing these yourself is a real PITA... I wish I had a lift
infinite is offline  
Old 09-27-2008, 02:32 PM
  #46  
A.H
Registered User
iTrader: (20)
 
A.H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SoCal 818
Posts: 1,699
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by infinite View Post
how did yours end?
He ended up keeping his stock cats on with one broken bolt if i remember correctly
A.H is offline  
Old 09-27-2008, 04:12 PM
  #47  
infinite
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
infinite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Posts: 658
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

UPDATE!.... FINALLY GOT THE JOB DONE, TOOK A LONG TIME BUT I FINALLY GOT THEM ON
infinite is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 12:04 AM
  #48  
chazz0812
Registered User
 
chazz0812's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Abilene, Tx
Posts: 113
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

More to the point - is anyone really gaining enough Hp or torque to warrant the trouble?
I read a "Dummies Book" on car mods where the author stated that modern cats are pretty good flowing, ie flowing well enough that removing them is not really worth the effort. He said in the 70's and 80's it made a difference, but not now. Everyone has this issue w/our cats. It is really worth the trouble for what HF cats may give?
chazz0812 is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 12:13 PM
  #49  
RRMikey
Registered User
iTrader: (32)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Behind you, with a spoon
Posts: 3,928
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

OP, how did you finally do it? I was thinking about getting test pipes but I had the same thought as chazz0812. I mean do you really feel a difference on a HR with test pipes?
RRMikey is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 02:18 PM
  #50  
shadykilla717
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
shadykilla717's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,222
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by RRMikey View Post
OP, how did you finally do it? I was thinking about getting test pipes but I had the same thought as chazz0812. I mean do you really feel a difference on a HR with test pipes?
U need to spray them with a type of lub. And then heat them. That loosens them alot. I did that and took 20 mins.. And yes you notice a difference with test pipes. I have them on my Z. I love them.
shadykilla717 is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 03:17 PM
  #51  
KS0385
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,900
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Is this going to be as tough for me on my 08 as with the 07's?
KS0385 is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 03:56 PM
  #52  
infinite
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
infinite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Posts: 658
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by RRMikey View Post
OP, how did you finally do it? I was thinking about getting test pipes but I had the same thought as chazz0812. I mean do you really feel a difference on a HR with test pipes?
yes I got it done, the one bolt on the driver side next to the steering shaft caused me a lot of trouble, it broke 1 rachet, and 1 extension. I had to use a die grinder to grind the head off and the cat dropped like a rock.
infinite is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 03:57 PM
  #53  
infinite
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
infinite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Posts: 658
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by KS0385 View Post
Is this going to be as tough for me on my 08 as with the 07's?
07-08's both have the same engine and the same troubles
infinite is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 04:01 PM
  #54  
4drmadness
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Orange County
Posts: 75
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

hey man are you selling ur HR Pipe
4drmadness is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 05:50 PM
  #55  
KS0385
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,900
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by infinite View Post
07-08's both have the same engine and the same troubles
I know that. The thing I am wondering is if it will be easier to do on a newer car because of the length of time that bolt has been sitting there. Or did they use Loctite at the factory on those bolts?
KS0385 is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 05:57 PM
  #56  
infinite
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
infinite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Posts: 658
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

it won't make a difference, there's been people with only 250 miles and it was the same issue. My car had 15k miles on it and it wouldn't move.
infinite is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 06:07 PM
  #57  
KS0385
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,900
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by infinite View Post
it won't make a difference, there's been people with only 250 miles and it was the same issue. My car had 15k miles on it and it wouldn't move.
Damn that sucks. Thanks for the info.
KS0385 is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 08:42 PM
  #58  
infinite
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
infinite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Posts: 658
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I would of got the bolt off, but I took it to mechanic shops and they stripped it. I think you'd have better luck doing it yourself, using pb blaster, some extensions, 14mm socket and a breaker bar
infinite is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 01:44 PM
  #59  
KS0385
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,900
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by infinite View Post
I would of got the bolt off, but I took it to mechanic shops and they stripped it. I think you'd have better luck doing it yourself, using pb blaster, some extensions, 14mm socket and a breaker bar
What about some Vice Grips instead of the socket wrench?
KS0385 is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 10:15 PM
  #60  
infinite
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
infinite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Posts: 658
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by KS0385 View Post
What about some Vice Grips instead of the socket wrench?
it can't be reached with vice grips.
infinite is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Can't Remove Stock Cats. Help!


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: