Notices
Wheels & Tires 350Z Rollers and Rubbers

All Season vs Snow Tires

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2010, 10:24 AM
onoratodm

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default All Season vs Snow Tires

I have an 03 Touring Z and I just moved up to MA from FL. I have some experience driving in the snow from going on various ski trips. I have been reading up on what kind of tires I should get for the winters up here and I cant determine if I need all season or snow tires. My commute is about 20 miles a day m-f to work on mostly the highway. I hear they do a pretty decent job plowing the highways, and my roommate has an FWD car that I could use if we get a bad snow storm.

So from your experiences, should I get all season tires or snow tires? IF snow tires, can I get away with only putting them on the rear tires? I'm not trying to spend an arm and a leg on winter tires if I dont need to. Also if you have any tire suggestions I would greatly appreciate the help. Thanks!
Old 11-20-2010, 10:51 AM
Corbic

All Seasons suck in all Seasons. Snows are mandatory for comfortable winter traction. Rock Summer/Performance in the dry months.
Old 11-20-2010, 02:04 PM
davidv

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Baltimore does a good job of keeping highways clear of snow. But I can NOT get 2 blocks to the highway. So pristine highways do nothing for me.
Old 11-20-2010, 03:07 PM
Spike100

Received 203 Likes on 173 Posts

I strongly recommend studless snow tires for the climate in your new home. And, you should mount these on all four wheels since you need to “stop” as well as “go.” Mounting studless snow tires on the rear only is dangerous since it results in unpredictable handling. It’s a significant challenge driving in snow and on ice.Driving on the correct tire makes this easier and safer.

Here is a thread discussing snow tires vs. all season tires:

https://my350z.com/forum/wheels-and-...ntact-dws.html