Notices
Wheels & Tires 350Z Rollers and Rubbers

Best Gripping Tires for dry road conditions?

Search this Thread

Old 02-29-2004, 01:58 PM
crazed350z

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best Gripping Tires for dry road conditions?

I just picked up my Z last week and was wondering which tires in a 275/40R & 245/40F would be the best tires for dry roads?
Am asking for people that are actually using the tires and not from just hearsay.
TY
Old 02-29-2004, 02:13 PM
lowrider

I have no experience on this, but I have heard and read that it's the Goodrich KDs. I've also heard they are scary in the wet. That's why they have the KDWs. I have Dunlop SP9000s which grip well on both surfaces.

Lou
Old 02-29-2004, 03:08 PM
Eric1h

for the money the toyo Proxy t1-S is the best tire i can think of.
Old 02-29-2004, 03:44 PM
tulene

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

sp9000's. but a bit slippery when cold.
Old 03-01-2004, 07:04 AM
Type R Boy

the BFG KDs are th best gripping Dry tire I have ever driven on. My buddy had them on his Lotus Esprit V8TT and it was sticky as ****, but if there was condensation on the roads it got a bit scarry.

I am pretty sure these are pretty close to the best when it comes to strictly dry weather tires. However the other guys here are right about T1S and Sp9000 for being a good all around tire since both tires are amazing in rain, but I dont think thats what you are looking for.
Old 03-01-2004, 07:42 AM
Blue Liquid

Default Re: Best Gripping Tires for dry road conditions?

Originally posted by crazed350z
I just picked up my Z last week and was wondering which tires in a 275/40R & 245/40F would be the best tires for dry roads?
Am asking for people that are actually using the tires and not from just hearsay.
TY