My audio setup, the installation begins - Page 2 - MY350Z.COM Forums



Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-22-2009, 06:39 PM   #21
adamtaylorpcb
Registered User
iTrader: (7)
 
adamtaylorpcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 890
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

use 3/4 to prevent any flex stuff it with poly and your set
adamtaylorpcb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 03:22 PM   #22
XERMAN2001
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
XERMAN2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamtaylorpcb View Post
use 3/4 to prevent any flex stuff it with poly and your set
(i just edited my post)

i dont want to make the box any taller than 5.75 inchs or this would end up raising the floor level higher than before. So if i make it out of 3/4 inch mdf i would have to make the bottom of the box out of fiberglass to contour to the floor and leave enough room to clear the sub. I would also need to add poly, the box would be around .64 cubic sq feet and i need .75 cubic sq feet. how much poly would i need to add?
XERMAN2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 03:42 PM   #23
XERMAN2001
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
XERMAN2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

i just called the infinity tech line, they said that with the amp and sub that i am using 1/2 mdf should be fine. They said when you are running some of their higher end stuff 500 rsm plus you need 3/4 inch, i am going to be running at 250 rms.
XERMAN2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 03:54 PM   #24
michaeljr6
Registered User
iTrader: (14)
 
michaeljr6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: small home.
Posts: 10,517
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

why don't you put the amps inside the glove compartment and where the stock sub is?
michaeljr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 05:54 PM   #25
XERMAN2001
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
XERMAN2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeljr6 View Post
why don't you put the amps inside the glove compartment and where the stock sub is?
i am looking for something with a bit more show. I want show but still usable storage space. If i wanted just show i would have done some sort of fiberglass enclosure on top of the floor and lost all cargo space. If i wanted just sound and didn't care about show i would have put the sub in the stock sub located and the amps in the glove box behind the passenger seat.

my inspiration:



link to his build http://my350z.com/forum/audio-builds...done-pics.html

another one



link to his build http://my350z.com/forum/audio-builds...ll-for-ya.html

another one


Last edited by XERMAN2001; 04-23-2009 at 06:01 PM.
XERMAN2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 07:14 PM   #26
XERMAN2001
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
XERMAN2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

worked on the amp mounting area some more




amps in



sub and amp trim rings. See the blue lines, the inside or the part closer to the amps and subs will be see when the final trim panel is on. I am thinking of making the this inside part silver, the rest will be black. The outside part will support the final trim panel or false floor panel.






XERMAN2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 08:32 AM   #27
adamtaylorpcb
Registered User
iTrader: (7)
 
adamtaylorpcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 890
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

update kneegrow


build some shiz out of wood not cardboard
adamtaylorpcb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 08:42 AM   #28
Goku350z2007
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Rahway, N.J.
Posts: 929
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

what are you going to do when you get a flat tire?
Goku350z2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 05:17 PM   #29
adamtaylorpcb
Registered User
iTrader: (7)
 
adamtaylorpcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 890
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

same thing i do, call my insurance for free towing or a spare
adamtaylorpcb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 09:32 AM   #30
blaze0303
Registered User
 
blaze0303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Keep it up man, I wish i had the patience to fat mat my ENTIRE car.
blaze0303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 01:43 PM   #31
Mike Wazowski
350Z-holic
iTrader: (113)
 
Mike Wazowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Diego 92111
Posts: 22,106
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

very nice
Mike Wazowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 09:44 PM   #32
J's 350z!
Registered User
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Whittier/ OC
Posts: 463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Where did you get the second glove compartment door for behind the driver seat?
J's 350z! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 05:12 PM   #33
Blazemaster
Registered User
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: So. Cal. 626
Posts: 548
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

for those that did their own sound deadening with things like fat mat or dyna mat before, did you guys only did the actual bare metal? I did some on the bare metal, but I spent most of my time on the individual plastic interior pieces that came out of the trunk. I bought 64 sq. feet of elemental design's edead 80. Looking at this thread, makes me think that I should go back and put more on the bare rear strut. It makes more sense because the bare metal are connected to the frame and are more likely to resonate through the bumps on the road. I still have about 20 sq. feet left, I think I will use the rest on the actual rear strut, not the plastic pieces. I have to order at least another 50-100 sq. feet, if I want to do the floor, doors, and ceiling.
Blazemaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 05:26 PM   #34
JAM3Z
Phenom
iTrader: (17)
 
JAM3Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 8,712
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Nice work!
JAM3Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 09:56 AM   #35
ncparamedic
Prodigal Son
iTrader: (49)
 
ncparamedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 1,793
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok, any update?
ncparamedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 05:23 AM   #36
ETZ
Registered User
iTrader: (8)
 
ETZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 272
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey XERMAN2001 what kind of speaker wire are you using,also for the 2nd glove box were you able to get the lock coded to the original key?

Last edited by ETZ; 06-08-2009 at 05:25 AM.
ETZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 03:39 PM   #37
XERMAN2001
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
XERMAN2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ETZ View Post
Hey XERMAN2001 what kind of speaker wire are you using,also for the 2nd glove box were you able to get the lock coded to the original key?
I am using Stinger 14 gauge wire for the speakers and Moster cable 10 gauge for the subs.

About the key, i guess i could but ive not.
XERMAN2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 03:40 PM   #38
XERMAN2001
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
XERMAN2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

UPDATE

False floor






covers on, so i can use the trunk/hatch


carpet on

Last edited by XERMAN2001; 08-11-2009 at 03:42 PM.
XERMAN2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 03:43 PM   #39
XERMAN2001
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
XERMAN2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

pulled everything out ---





---------
AND ---------------------------!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
---------


Last edited by XERMAN2001; 08-11-2009 at 04:00 PM.
XERMAN2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 04:04 PM   #40
XERMAN2001
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
XERMAN2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

time to reproduce the cardboard templates to MDF

The sub box, screwed, glued and cocked






The amp rack






Amp trim panel





Sub trim panel -- with a rounded iner edge


Last edited by XERMAN2001; 08-29-2009 at 05:28 PM.
XERMAN2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oil change with aftermarket oil cooler XM 1 Engine & Drivetrain 11 10-01-2015 10:44 PM


Tags
350z, 452, audio, brunei, falken, false, floor, install, nissan, rounded, s2000, securing, setup, setups, spx17pro, trunk, wrx

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:42 AM.


Copyright 2002 - 2008, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.