Buying/Leasing 350Z/370Z Purchasing Info

New member here, need advice on purchasing an HR

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2016, 06:11 PM
lcmenair

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New member here, need advice on purchasing an HR

Hi all,

My name is Lucien and I've just signed up. I've been out of the performance car thing for a while (grad school will do that) but now that I have a 'real' job, I'd like to get a car for the weekends to enjoy on these glorious California roads. Since the Z came out, I've always been interested in it. I drove an '06 a very long time ago, but at the time I didn't like it. I was into straight line type V8 cars, and the Z felt slow. I've been driving a 100hp Mazda 2 for the past 3 years (and a 135hp first gen RX-7 for four years prior to that!) so I've learned to appreciate cars without rocketship acceleration.

On that note, I decided to look more seriously into the 370 and 350z. After having driven both, I have to say I prefer the 350z. It seems to have a bit more character and I think it looks significantly better as well. I don't actually mind the rather cheap materials in the cabin as I like the design.

A dealer near me has a 2008 350z 6mt. I can't recall the spec on it, but it didn't have a screen in the dash, so I don't think it was a touring model. The odometer was showing 70k miles on the clock, not bad for a 8 year old car. The car felt mostly solid with the exception of a rattle in the back and the engine feeling slightly thrashy up top (I think I've read this is a common VQ trait). The clutch, steering, and shifter all felt pretty good. Its a 2 owner car with no accidents in it's history.