Notices
Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

Problem with CNR Pulley???

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2006, 02:35 PM
liudacris

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Problem with CNR Pulley???

I got the CNR pulley set installed about 1 month ago (~1000 miles) and it was great. Not much added noise or vibrations and improved throttle response.

In the past week, I thought I could hear a slight squeal, but couldn't tell for sure. But today, it's getting pretty loud and I can hear it for sure. I think it is from the crank pulley. The belts LOOK like they are on straight and aren't slipping, but I'm no mechanic. I did a search and saw talk about the bearings, but I'm not sure how to check this exactly or if that is even an issue.

What can I do to check what the problem is/solve it?
Anyone else have problems with the CNR?

Don't tell me i hafta go back to stock...
Old 05-16-2006, 02:40 PM
zachcrosen

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I dont have any problems so far with my CNR pullies. I have had them on for about a month and a half and have no evidence of squealing or wobbling as some have mentioned. Does your squeal happen upon startup and go away after a few seconds or minutes? If this is the case, I would say that your belt may be loose and slipping. Just throwing ideas out there for ya!
Old 05-16-2006, 02:54 PM
teh215

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I would bet the belt is slipping. Simply tighten it...
Old 05-16-2006, 06:34 PM
liudacris

The squeal is constant.

How would I tighten it? Sorry...I'm a newb in this aspect.
Old 05-17-2006, 12:47 AM
punish_her

theideler pulley. It's an justable pulley that puts tension on the belt. Service manual page EM-14 give her a look.
Old 05-17-2006, 10:35 AM
liudacris

After some searching I found a service manual! woot!

I'm gonna try to tackle this later today.
Old 05-17-2006, 10:45 AM
teh215

Originally Posted by liudacris
After some searching I found a service manual! woot!

I'm gonna try to tackle this later today.