Go Back   MY350Z.COM Forums > 350Z Tech Area > Maintenance & Repair
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to my350z.com!
Welcome to my350z.com.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-25-2012, 09:29 AM   #1
CTS13
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (3)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: West Hartford, CT
Posts: 213
Points: 1,957, Level: 26
Points: 1,957, Level: 26 Points: 1,957, Level: 26 Points: 1,957, Level: 26
Today's Activity: 0.7%
Today's Activity: 0.7% Today's Activity: 0.7% Today's Activity: 0.7%
Default Bad throttle body or pedal?

I have a vq swapped s13 and finally got it to start up couple of days ago and it runs fine, idles greats but when i depress the pedal for the engine to rev, it doesnt do anything, the engine actually quiets down to where it feels like it stalled but it keeps running. Ive never in my life seen something like this before. But either way, I did do voltage and continuity checks on the harness and everything checks out.

Now i sold my z over 3 years ago so i forgot few things here and there. When i turn ignition on, the throttle body clicks once. If i recall, isnt it supposed to click and then have a low toned whining sound?

Either the throttle body or gas pedal is at fault and i can't see to figure it out... yet.

Thanks
CTS13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 11:38 AM   #2
Mint Racer
Registered User

 
Mint Racer's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: guelph, on. canada.
Posts: 92
Points: 2,394, Level: 29
Points: 2,394, Level: 29 Points: 2,394, Level: 29 Points: 2,394, Level: 29
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

back probe the connector at the gas pedal, signal wire and ground, see if there is a voltage signal while the pedal is depressed. then check the signal being received at the throttle body from the ecm use a hertz setting on your multimeter, its easier to see whats is happening.
Mint Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 02:22 PM   #3
CTS13
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (3)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: West Hartford, CT
Posts: 213
Points: 1,957, Level: 26
Points: 1,957, Level: 26 Points: 1,957, Level: 26 Points: 1,957, Level: 26
Today's Activity: 0.7%
Today's Activity: 0.7% Today's Activity: 0.7% Today's Activity: 0.7%
Default

Something is really ****ed up because the connector for the trottlebody is not giving me the right readings.

here is the first step of diagnostics.

Click the image to open in full size.

First problem, terminal 1 doesnt have any voltage but instead terminal 4 is putting out almost 5v.

Next, terminal 1 and ground have continuity.

Next, if i disconnect ECM ground wire, theres 12+ voltage running through all of those terminals except for terminal 5 i think it was. Is that supposed to happen? lol

WITH ECM GROUND connected, terminal 4 puts out 5v and the rest act as ground and receive 12+ volts if i send power down the other lead on the multimeter.

I did check the output on the pedal and it is working properly. I just dont understand what in the world is going on.
CTS13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 02:39 PM   #4
CTS13
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (3)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: West Hartford, CT
Posts: 213
Points: 1,957, Level: 26
Points: 1,957, Level: 26 Points: 1,957, Level: 26 Points: 1,957, Level: 26
Today's Activity: 0.7%
Today's Activity: 0.7% Today's Activity: 0.7% Today's Activity: 0.7%
Default

Ok i just pulled codes and they are

1111 - IVT, forgot to plug it in, should be ok now.

0051 - 02 Sensor. I dont have my right one plugged in at the moment

0223 - Throttle position sensor
An excessively low voltage from the TP sensor 1 is sent to ECM.
Harness or connectors (The TP sensor 1 circuit is open or shorted.)
Electric throttle control actuator (TP sensor 1)

0122 - Throttle position sensor
An excessively low voltage from the TP sensor 2 is sent to ECM.
Harness or connectors (The TP sensor 2 circuit is open or shorted.)
Electric throttle control actuator (TP sensor 2)

2135 - Throttle position sensor circuit range/performance problem
Rationally incorrect voltage is sent to ECM compared with the signals from TP sensor 1 and TP sensor 2.
Harness or connector (The TP sensor 1 and 2 circuit is open or shorted.)
Electric throttle control actuator (TP sensor 1 and 2)
CTS13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 05:37 PM   #5
Mint Racer
Registered User

 
Mint Racer's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: guelph, on. canada.
Posts: 92
Points: 2,394, Level: 29
Points: 2,394, Level: 29 Points: 2,394, Level: 29 Points: 2,394, Level: 29
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

could possibly be a fault in the wiring... sounds like wires have been could have shorted.
check for continuity from the pins at the connector at throttle body, and the connector at the ecm, and verify the continuity is not present between all the wires from throttle to ecm...
eliminate the wires from the equation.
next would be to replace the throttle body...
whats the mileage on the engine.
there could be an internal short, the life span of a throttle body is about 80000 miles give or take, the brushes in the motor seem to wear out.
i am assuming that the harness has not been cut and spliced in-between the ecm and throttle body.
Mint Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 06:44 PM   #6
CTS13
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (3)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: West Hartford, CT
Posts: 213
Points: 1,957, Level: 26
Points: 1,957, Level: 26 Points: 1,957, Level: 26 Points: 1,957, Level: 26
Today's Activity: 0.7%
Today's Activity: 0.7% Today's Activity: 0.7% Today's Activity: 0.7%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mint Racer View Post
could possibly be a fault in the wiring... sounds like wires have been could have shorted.
check for continuity from the pins at the connector at throttle body, and the connector at the ecm, and verify the continuity is not present between all the wires from throttle to ecm...
eliminate the wires from the equation.
next would be to replace the throttle body...
whats the mileage on the engine.
there could be an internal short, the life span of a throttle body is about 80000 miles give or take, the brushes in the motor seem to wear out.
i am assuming that the harness has not been cut and spliced in-between the ecm and throttle body.
You mean continuity SHOULD be present. I might beleive there could be a short but this wire harness was built by a shop that claimed they tested the harness and it worked fine.

I'm not too sure on the mileage but i dont think it failed due to its age. lol. either way, let me get my hands on a new throttle body and see what happens.
CTS13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 07:01 PM   #7
Mint Racer
Registered User

 
Mint Racer's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: guelph, on. canada.
Posts: 92
Points: 2,394, Level: 29
Points: 2,394, Level: 29 Points: 2,394, Level: 29 Points: 2,394, Level: 29
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

i wanted u to verify that the wires werent shorted to eachother, an easy way to tell this is to check and see if there is continuity between 2 different wires in the same loom eg.. if 12+ wire and signal wire were crossed, there would be continuity between the 2 different pins, on each end of connector.
i also wanted u to check each wire for continuity individually...end to end.

And u never know what happend. something could have been missed, or occured dureing reassembly.
this will help determine if there is a problem on the harness side. and eliminate all possibilities.

another thing to check is that the pin outs are in the correct location, (u mentioned that the terminal 4 had voltage when it wasnt supposed to. and terminal 1, that was supposed to have voltage didnt.)

Last edited by Mint Racer; 03-26-2012 at 07:03 PM.
Mint Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 12:11 AM   #8
dudewutup
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Points: 405, Level: 8
Points: 405, Level: 8 Points: 405, Level: 8 Points: 405, Level: 8
Today's Activity: 0.4%
Today's Activity: 0.4% Today's Activity: 0.4% Today's Activity: 0.4%
Default

im going through the same problems your having right now, i did the wiring myself however and i just found out i mixed 2 pins on the throttle pedal up. ill know if i solved my problem in the morning. ill keep you updated on it. i also don't have my o2 sensors hooked up and fear that is whats also causing the problem.

and for what its worth here is a link to my thread.
http://zilvia.net/f/s-chassis/374604...-pic-hevy.html
dudewutup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 12:11 AM
MyG37
Infiniti G37




Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
350z, accelerator, bad, body, my350z, nissan, opening, pedal, position, sensor, signal, test, throttle, tps, vq35hr



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

ADVERTISING
INSURANCE CENTER

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Advertise on MY350Z.COM - Terms of Service - Privacy Statement - Jobs
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2008, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.

Admin control Panel Backup