Notices
Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

Ecu Basics

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2005, 04:56 PM
aforst

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ecu Basics

There seems to be a lot of discussion on the ECU and its learning capabilities. I am new to the Z but not new to EFI. Most ECU's have built in fuel and timing maps for WOT. The computer does not consider o2 readings. The ecu reads partial throttle and idle AIR FUEL ratios (VIA a voltage) of the O2 sensor only under partial and idle loads. The the ecu has what is usually refered to as long term and short term fuel trims. Thus "learning." If you add mods that change AIR FUEL ratios I.E. intake headers and exhaust and the motor moves more air the ratio will naturally be leaner. If this mixture is to lean the enginge will potentially knock. Then the ECU will pull timing. and whala loss of hp. Unless I am mistaken and we have a wideband 4 or 5 wire O2 sensor our ecu will not make adjusments to WOT injector durations.
Old 05-11-2005, 05:27 PM
sentry65
the burninator

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I can see why nissan did what they did in that 80% of buyers just drive to and from work in their Z and treat it like a normal car. If something is out of spec you get a SES light come on.

vs

automatically adding more fuel to make the A/F good

This is especially dangerous if the ECU won't add fuel at WOT with some mods cause not only is it lean, it's at the engine's limit

So you're saying the only time the ECU will try to add more fuel is at partial throttle? hmm interesting - stupid design, but interesting...
Old 05-11-2005, 10:00 PM
aforst