Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

New 3M film insanity: splash guards

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2002, 09:54 AM
Dean

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New 3M film insanity: splash guards

Well, after self-installing my Invisiguard/Xpel kit on my 350Z, I started looking at other areas of the paint that were vulnerable. First off, I am NOT a professional 3M film installer. I'm a hack, a stubborn amatuer who convinced himself that I can install this glorified Saran wrap. I don't produce, sell or professionally install this stuff.

I'm pleased with the results thusfar. I'll post my adventure in 3M self installation at a later date. I have plenty of advice on detecting a good vs. bad 3M install.

Nissan does a great job of integrating wheel splash guards on its cars. Unfortunately the body colored splash guards are really going to get beat up badly by road debris. The plastic pieces have a dark grey core, so it's like to look very bad for PP white, C. silver, Daytona blue and Silverstone.

Pre-cut pieces of the 3M film are not available, so I improvised. Bulk 3M film is dirt cheap. I'd suggest cutting the film with a circular "pizza cutter" type knife from a crafts store. A straight and true cut is difficult with scissors.

Only the outer border of the film needs to be cut precisely. The other edges can be wrapped around to hide them.

Voila! The first 3M "clear bra" coverage of the splash films ever done!

Are there no limits to this 3M film madness?

Dean
Old 11-03-2002, 10:46 AM
Radian

I'd love to hear your experiances with the "self-installaion" of your 3m clear bra. Did you buy a "kit" with the peices already precut or did yuo just buy a roll of film and cut it yourself?

Did you use a heat gon to help bend it around the corners?

Any more picks and tips would be appreciated.
Old 11-03-2002, 10:48 AM
SKiDaZZLe
Charter Member #34

xpel makes the kits for the splash guards.. they also make the kits for the door sills...