2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

Lets be nice to new forum members

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2005, 02:20 AM
ncparamedic
Prodigal Son

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wink Lets be nice to new forum members

It has been maybe one week that I have joined this forum and I have had a very good experience with the amount of help that I have had from other members, however one particular post really tweaked at me alittle. I asked a simple question about a part that I just learned about. I am a new Z owner and with all of the new modifications and problems and parts that can be taken off and put back on, it is impossible to read everything on these subjects. Am I right? I know that there is a search engine on this site, however being new I am still learning how to navigate this site. And when you are checking one item there is always a post that you read that brings up another question.
We've all been there. We are not at all born with the inate knowlege of mechanics or modification on these highly sophisticated cars or at least Im not. It is something that we all learn with experience and being mentored by those who have done the same thing and who have the love and passion.
I remember getting this talk when I was in my, mmm let see, 15th year of being a paramedic and it was my job to mentor new medics. There is a virtue called patience and when someone asks a question, i feel it is my job not to scald them for it because i "think" they should know it but to educate them on it. Not to belittle them because they are not up to my level of knowledge or experience.
The same goes here. Everyone has a large amount of love for there cars. And this forum is basically a brother/sisterhood and when new members come in and asked a question that has probably been answered more than a few times, just educate them on how to navigate the website, or if you dont have the patience, just skip the question and go to the next thread. Dont belittle them on their own threads.