Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

Erroneous gas gage.

Old 08-07-2006, 02:43 PM
  #1  
jungleson
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Erroneous gas gage.

O.k. I have done numerous searches on this topic on various 350z forums and found that some people also have this problem, but no solution.

I took my 03 Z in for the fuel filler line recall. So after they had finished the TSB, the Nissan service dept. filled up my tank for free The tech noticed that the gas gage was not at full, but rather a 3/4 full. So they called me and asked if I had a problem with the gage. To which I said yes. I'm now into the second week of waiting as the dealership and Nissan tech line try to finding a solution. They have changed out the sending unit, pulled the dash, installed new FID valve, and changed the wire harness connector. I'll share the solution, when Nissan finds problem.
jungleson is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 03:40 PM
  #2  
DavesZ#3
350Z-holic
iTrader: (26)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 15,888
Likes: 0
Recieved 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

I don't mean to change the subject on you but I just noticed something that ought to be record-setting. You've been on the board for almost four years yet just made your second post. Talk about "lurking".
DavesZ#3 is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 03:56 PM
  #3  
Miko
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 542
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thought you were gonna talk about gas mileage. Was about to say...lol
Anyways, filled up today doing 60mph cruise control, flat road, 90 degrees (humid) and was getting 36.5 to 37.x mpg
This car is BADASS.
Miko is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 04:26 PM
  #4  
once_traveling
Registered User
 
once_traveling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have had the same problem. Everytime I fill up my tank it only goes to 3/4 full and no higher. My car also reads at E and will only take 15 Gallons so I know there is 1.5 gallons in the tank. I have wanted to take it in but have been out of town and I dont trust anyone enough to take it in for me. Please keep updating as to what they do so I can give the techs a little info when I go in.

Good Luck
once_traveling is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 04:41 PM
  #5  
bigbri
Registered User
 
bigbri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: CALI
Posts: 2,059
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

My gas gauge only reads 3/4 regardless if the tanks is full or empty...
bigbri is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 05:26 PM
  #6  
Voboy
Registered User
iTrader: (58)
 
Voboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,996
Recieved 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by DavesZ#3
I don't mean to change the subject on you but I just noticed something that ought to be record-setting. You've been on the board for almost four years yet just made your second post. Talk about "lurking".
Just noticed too.
Voboy is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 06:19 PM
  #7  
roast
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
roast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Okay, see?
Posts: 4,103
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

There is a TSB for the tank being hard to fill completely. The techs should be on top of that. There is a faulty shutter valve in some Z's. I think I had the problem worse than most people here, judging from other peoples posts on the problem. In the course of a year and a half I could NEVER get a full tank no matter what I did. It eventually got on my nerves and I took it in and had them fix it. The sending unit is also another common problem but I have not had any other issues with the fuel system other than the hard-to-fill problem.
roast is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 08:44 PM
  #8  
kaybee650
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Now in Fairfield
Posts: 224
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

i fuel up when my gas light turns on and i only get 15.5 gallons topped off to the top of the line. but my gauge goes full.... i dont know
kaybee650 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 03:06 AM
  #9  
Demon Z
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Demon Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: miles away
Posts: 1,912
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by kaybee650
i fuel up when my gas light turns on and i only get 15.5 gallons topped off to the top of the line. but my gauge goes full.... i dont know
Ya know, I was just thinking about this. I filled up yesterday, gas gauge showed roughly 1/8 of a tank (dte said 80mi.). I put in 14.9 gal. and it indicated "full". Now a little math between my trip odo and my fuel economy showed that it was spot on. So this means that there is FIVE GALLONS in that last eighth of a tank....does this strike anyone else as odd?
Demon Z is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 03:11 AM
  #10  
ObiRedKenobi
Registered User
 
ObiRedKenobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Georgia
Posts: 677
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Mine just recently started having the problem of not reaching full. I took it in for the recall as well but don't know if that has anything to do with it. I just reset my trip meter between fill ups and that works pretty well but I'd rather have a permanent solution.
ObiRedKenobi is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 04:01 AM
  #11  
bofa
Registered User
iTrader: (23)
 
bofa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,002
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Holy ****.. I thought I was losing my mind...

I've filled my Z up three times so far. First time it only took 8 gallons and stopped with the gauge showing 1/2 full. The second time it took about 12 gallons and showed full. The last time, the same 8 gallons again and half full... wtf?

I guess now I have to search on this. I kinda figured that if there was a TSB on this the dealer would have fixed it before selling it to me a few weeks ago.. but that would make too much sense. =)
bofa is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 04:57 AM
  #12  
roast
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
roast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Okay, see?
Posts: 4,103
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

roast is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:19 AM
  #13  
jungleson
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Yeah, the dealership did do the shutter valve TSB. It was after performing the TSB that the dealership noticed that the gage was stopping at 3/4 full. So they called me to see if I had any problems before, and that's when I told them yes. So they borescope the tank to verify that the tank was full and it was. So that where Nissan tech line got involved.

I know four years and two post. What can I say. I'm too busy enjoying the my 350z. Well except for the last week and half.
jungleson is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:34 AM
  #14  
roast
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
roast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Okay, see?
Posts: 4,103
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Ah yeah... I kinda misread that. So it was your sending unit. Good deal they're getting it worked out.

Get back out there and enjoy the Z
roast is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 09:35 AM
  #15  
dcmidnight
Registered User
 
dcmidnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northern VA - Alexandria
Posts: 294
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Here's a related question. Prior to having the fuel vapor TSB/recall work done this weekend I noticed that when my DTE went from 1 to "-- --" that I could fill my tank and get about 18 gallons in there, meaning I had a couple gallons left when I hit the -- -- flashing. No big deal just nice to know that if I am on the highway on the way home I dont have to jump right off to fill up. Question is does the recall work in any way alter this?
dcmidnight is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 03:01 PM
  #16  
jungleson
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I was having this issue before the TSB. I just wasn't sure whether I truly had an empty tank or the tank wasn't filling up. So after Nissan changed out the shutter valve they filled the tank up. Then verified it was full, however the gage was reading just over 3/4 tank.

I did call the dealership today and they said Nissan is overnighting a new instrument cluster. So my car has had a new sending unit, new connectors, new shutter valve, and soon a new instrument cluster. I did ask if I was going to get a Nismo cluster.......they said NO.
jungleson is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:17 PM
  #17  
kaybee650
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Now in Fairfield
Posts: 224
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

also the vapor recovery canister can be clogged, i have had that issue with my old rsx....... and it should be warranty also....
kaybee650 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:21 PM
  #18  
Zmazing03
Registered User
iTrader: (9)
 
Zmazing03's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Waterbury, CT
Posts: 13,177
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I swear Nissan guages are weird anyway. My stepmoms Maxima would fall FAST to 1/2 tank, and then would take forever to get to 1/4. Then 1/4 would go byebye really fast.

I *think* I noticed the same in the Z, but not quite to the same extent.
Zmazing03 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:28 PM
  #19  
kaybee650
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Now in Fairfield
Posts: 224
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

well i think we have the same or similar fuel pumps as most other cars.... maybe the floats get jammed on the fuel pumps... i know that veeder-root made the first electronic gauging fuel pump.. and now they make them for gas station that hold between 4000 to 25,000 gallons.... and they are as acurate to 2 gallons....
kaybee650 is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 08:22 AM
  #20  
ObiRedKenobi
Registered User
 
ObiRedKenobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Georgia
Posts: 677
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

As I said earlier I show about 3/4 of a tank when I fill up. I hit e this morning headed to work and had 447 miles from the time I filled up to the time the little light came on. So I know my problem isn't that its not getting a full tank its got to be something else.
ObiRedKenobi is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Erroneous gas gage.


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: