Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

First Track Day Impressions

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2006, 07:25 PM
Marc Mc

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Track Day Impressions

I just thought I would share my track day experience. I bought my Z to take on the track. I don't think I will ever be racing it, but I want to enjoy the wonderful tracks in Norcal. Today was at Thunderhill Raceway in Willows, CA.

I am still new but have driven on this track before. This was, however, the first time on the track with the Z and it performed beautifully. I attended the high performance driving school put on by the track.

I had classified myself in the A group when I signed up. I figured I was a beginner and that was where I belonged. After talking to one of the instructors (who raced a Z) for a while and sharing my experience, he took it upon himself to move me to the intermediate group, as he felt the A group would be too slow and drive me crazy. He was right. Watching the A group was like watching Driving Miss Daisy. It is great if you have no track experience, so don't get me wrong. It just wasn't right for me.