Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

Noob Stick Questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2006, 07:20 PM
insomniaxvi

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Noob Stick Questions

I'm just learning to drive stick and doing quite well actually. My brother is coming over this Saturday to really give me the 101, but I want to gather as much information as possible to practice before he arrives; I have three questions...

1. When I try to get moving from a complete stop, my Z often luggs (bucks) or stalls (luckily only a few times so far). How can I improve this for a quick, yet smooth motion without burning the clutch and/or hurting the engine?

2. When I'm arriving at a stop sign (quick stop) and want to put the car back in 1st, as I'm approaching the stop, do I a) clutch in b) shift from gear to N to 1st and keep the clutch in while attempting to stop and only let it out when I'm ready to move again or should it be a) clutch in b) shift from gear to N c) clutch out d) stop e) cluth in f) shift to first g) clutch out to move?

3. When upshifting, often at times, my car luggs or bucks when transfering gears. What is the proper technique to upshift smoothly? I know I'm not doing it properly...
Old 12-06-2006, 07:31 PM
TSG-Z

Your giving it too much gas while riding the clutch. The reason why it bucks is because your coming off the clutch too fast with throttle and rpm's being at about 4 or 5k.

When I come to a stop I put it in neutral, then when I begin to move I put it in 2nd, but thats just me. Some people I know down shift back in to 1st, but to me thats working to hard, lol. Have fun and dont burn your clutch up.
Old 12-06-2006, 07:34 PM
Swiffer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

For the upshifts to be smooth, you need to rpms to match in the next gear. This will all come with time and experience.
Old 12-06-2006, 07:38 PM
kPaNdA350