Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

Me vs. my friend (Who is stupid?)

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2007, 03:55 AM
neeferea

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool Me vs. my friend (Who is stupid?)

So I was driving my car, downshifting. And suddenly friend of mine screamed, “You are going to ruin your transmission driving like this”.

In order to downshift I rev match by depressing the clutch, then selecting new gear, bringing up RPM to what they have to be and then while I am still on gas at I let the clutch go. I have been driving like this for 3 years now. And now he is telling me that it is not right.

Any comments?
Old 04-27-2007, 03:57 AM
C Dubs

I think your friend needs schooled on manual transmissions!
Old 04-27-2007, 03:59 AM
C Dubs

As long as your matching the revs its no problem, it's the only way to go at the track.
Old 04-27-2007, 04:00 AM
coreapoc

Originally Posted by neeferea
So I was driving my car, downshifting. And suddenly friend of mine screamed, “You are going to ruin your transmission driving like this”.

In order to downshift I rev match by depressing the clutch, then selecting new gear, bringing up RPM to what they have to be and then while I am still on gas at I let the clutch go. I have been driving like this for 3 years now. And now he is telling me that it is not right.

Any comments?

Your friend eats glue.

/thread
Old 04-27-2007, 04:11 AM
timmywick

Originally Posted by coreapoc
Your friend eats glue.

/thread
Heyyyyy....I like glue. It holds me together sometimes!!!
Old 04-27-2007, 06:15 AM
Spoolin Z

You and your friend are both wrong actually.

Both you and your friend will wear your syncros by rev matching that way. In order to properly rev match a downshift to put no wear on your syncros you should:

1. Press in the clutch
2. Select neutral
3. Release the clutch
4. Blip the throttle
5. Press in the clutch
6. Select the gear
7. Release the clutch