Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

How to avoid tickets...

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2003, 12:09 PM
Buub

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to avoid tickets...

I was going to write this as a reply to an existing thread, but thought it would actually be more useful to a general audience.

One thing I find disturbing a little bit is the guys who claim to have like 37 tickets before buying a radar detector, and none after. No radar detector is a replacement for your own attention.

There is nothing more valuable than constantly being diligent with your eyeballs, constantly scanning the traffic down the road, the roadsides, hill tops, etc. for potential police cars. This will save you more tickets than any radar detector. I have been driving for over twenty years, and have had two speeding tickets. I drive very fast and very "assertively". I have never been stopped for a moving violation other than those two tickets. The vast majority of that time (like 95%) was without a radar detector.

The first ticket I actually got with a radar detector (hit with instant-on over a hill top on a two-lane back road). The second was because I wasn't paying attention. I could have clearly seen him before he clocked me if I had been looking.

I can't stress this enough: there is no replacement for your own attention and constant surveillance. If you can't devote that much attention to driving fast, slow down. I can't count the number of times I have seen the cop before my radar detector has gone off.