Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

Broken bolt in Plenum

Old 06-23-2019, 08:10 PM
  #1  
Chris_mas14
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: California
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Broken bolt in Plenum

Hey guys so idk if this thread was made or not but I couldn’t find it, I was installing a Z1 plenum spacer into my 2003 Z 5AT and was I was torquing the 6 bolts that go onto the upper plenum I popped one, I removed the upper plenum to check the damage and there was a little bit of thread sticking out but I couldn’t pull it off with vice grips and so I tried the easy out method and I drilled a hole into the bolt to try to pull it out, unfortunately I just had surgery and it got to hard for me to bend that much so I gave up, I’m taking it to my mechanic and when I put everything back and turned on the car it did a really gross noise and then idled really low, did another noise that sounded like a clunk and as soon as I heard that I turned the engine off, now my question is, since there is an obvious hole in the upper plenum will the car be able to drive? And that clunking noise is it normal(in respect to not having a bolt in place)? Thanks for the help guys.


Chris_mas14 is offline  
Old 06-24-2019, 02:43 AM
  #2  
813_350Z
Registered User
 
813_350Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: West Coast, Florida
Posts: 155
Received 34 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

You're not the first..

https://my350z.com/forum/intake-exha...o-replace.html

Your low idle is because there is most likely a minor vacuum leak created by the poor seal that the absence of that bolt has created. As for noises, I don't believe there would be any reason for any like you are describing just because you broke off the head of a bolt.

How far away is your mechanic? The car will be safe to drive, (may feel a little funny due to the vacuum leak), but I wouldn't drive it for very long.

Once the broken portion of the bolt is extracted, you will need a new M6 bolt with a 1mm thread pitch. Just stop by Nissan and ask them for one. Shouldn't run more than a few bucks.

Also, as a word of advice, it is best to allow the car to cool overnight before attempting to work on these manifolds. The bolts are much easier to break when they are warm.

Last edited by 813_350Z; 06-24-2019 at 02:50 AM.
813_350Z is offline  
Old 06-24-2019, 05:24 AM
  #3  
jhc
General & Tech Moderator
MY350Z.COM
 
jhc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: ZdayZ
Posts: 8,054
Received 1,549 Likes on 1,066 Posts
Default

I agree, easy mistake as torque setting should be around 48 INCH pounds. (That's 4-5 FOOT pounds ). I'd get a 1" square of the stickiest tape you have to put on that hole and see if the idle improves enough to drive.
jhc is offline  
Old 06-24-2019, 08:47 AM
  #4  
terrasmak
Super Moderator
MY350Z.COM
iTrader: (8)
 
terrasmak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sin City
Posts: 25,584
Received 1,138 Likes on 828 Posts
Default

Look into a Kinetic v+ intake, it doesn't even use those bolts
terrasmak is offline  
Old 06-24-2019, 09:15 AM
  #5  
tmdz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: WA State
Posts: 218
Received 36 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

Yeah most 1/2 drive torque wrenches start at 24-25 ft lbs. If you are going to torque those you will want to get a 1/4 drive. At Harbor Freight they are like $20
tmdz is offline  
Old 06-24-2019, 09:25 AM
  #6  
iideadeyeii
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lawtown
Posts: 2,904
Received 231 Likes on 184 Posts
Default

Keep 1/2" of the bolt there and put some silicon and stick it in the hole...done. You don't even need those center bolts.
iideadeyeii is offline  
Old 06-24-2019, 05:17 PM
  #7  
Chihuahuamaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: US
Posts: 130
Received 34 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

If you do replace the bolt, the torque spec has already been stated, but I would just go by feel, then you can tell if it's about to snap. I had a similar occurrence with the valve cover bolts.

Also, for the replacement bolt, a fastner supply store should have the bolts much cheaper than a dealer, even though it's only a few $, just something to keep in mind if you need any other bolts around the car.
Chihuahuamaster is offline  
The following users liked this post:
iideadeyeii (06-25-2019)
Old 06-24-2019, 07:10 PM
  #8  
813_350Z
Registered User
 
813_350Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: West Coast, Florida
Posts: 155
Received 34 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Chihuahuamaster View Post

Also, for the replacement bolt, a fastner supply store should have the bolts much cheaper than a dealer, even though it's only a few $, just something to keep in mind if you need any other bolts around the car.
M6 bolts aren't common in most supply stores, especially in automotive high strength alloy.

If you're struggling that much that you'd need to save a buck on a bolt, maybe a different vehicle is recommended.

Not being a ****, I'm just saying. It's fine and dandy for bolts you'd use to hold your bumper on, but I wouldn't skip out on anything that holds my engine together.
813_350Z is offline  
Old 06-25-2019, 05:34 AM
  #9  
iideadeyeii
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lawtown
Posts: 2,904
Received 231 Likes on 184 Posts
Default

It's an unnecessary bolt. A class 8 bolt from home depot that's 75 cents will work just fine. I wouldn't consider those plenum bolts "High strength" at all
iideadeyeii is offline  
Old 06-25-2019, 06:39 AM
  #10  
bealljk
Registered User
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Denver
Posts: 4,112
Received 454 Likes on 378 Posts
Default

If you want replacement OEM hardware let me know - have a few sets sitting in the garage.
bealljk is online now  
Old 06-27-2019, 04:17 AM
  #11  
masterjr33
Registered User
 
masterjr33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: FL
Posts: 40
Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

bolt not required.
leave it.
plug hole in plenum with JB weld. or magic metal rods and a torch.
masterjr33 is offline  
Old 06-27-2019, 07:29 AM
  #12  
bealljk
Registered User
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Denver
Posts: 4,112
Received 454 Likes on 378 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by masterjr33 View Post
bolt not required.
good point … I chopped the 6 bolts out, welded the holes closed and plugged the bottom sides... One & Done!!
bealljk is online now  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
neur0sis
Intake Exhaust
16
09-11-2017 01:31 AM
atlien187
Wheels & Tires
3
06-16-2007 10:46 AM
rxkevin
Intake Exhaust
14
05-12-2006 07:09 AM
SirJonnyWispit
Forced Induction
2
06-13-2005 06:59 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Broken bolt in Plenum


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: