Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

Burning Oil Smell / Tons of Smoke on Startup (Sometimes)

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2022, 11:39 AM
Chris Edwards

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Burning Oil Smell / Tons of Smoke on Startup (Sometimes)

Hey guys bear with me as I'm new to VQ's but not new to motors. Before I put a motor in this thing I'm trying to figure out if anyone has any input for me. A little back story: 2 weeks ago I purchase a caged 2004.5 track car with 26k miles. The guy I bought it from had it few 4 years and took it to the track muliple times. The previous (first) owner is the one that did all the work. When I test drove the car I could smell faint smells of burning oil, but he cold started it and there wasn't any smoke out of the tailpipes, and I assumed it could just be from weeping seals having been a track car its whole life. The motor sounded very sound and healthy. Fast forward a week later and I decide to take the car to the dyno to make sure it's healthy, and also to E85 tune it. Before I do so I decide to go over the entire car, change the plugs, air filter, oil, etc. When I remove the coil packs, I find that 5 out of 6 spark plug holes are literally FULL of oil, as in when I pull the coil out of the hole, oil pours out of the whole all over the valve covers and down the side of the motor. The 6th cylinder (furthest back on the driver side) was bone dry. So I shop vac as much oil from the spark plug holes as I can, and replace the plugs with some oil dripping down into the cylinders but not a ton... When I start the car up after the new new plugs, the car is billowing smoke out of the tailpipes (burning oil). I'm not too concerned as I understand that some oil from the tubes has made its way into the combustion chambers and will take a few minutes to burn off. However, after letting the car idle for 20 mins the smoke is just as bad as it ever was and there is clearly a problem. I do a little research and find that this is a seemingly commo