Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

Tire feathering is stopping me from getting a Z

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2004, 10:25 AM
tivaj

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Tire feathering is stopping me from getting a Z

This is the only reason why I have been evaluating purchasing a Z for the past 5 months. My question does every Z have feathering?

Best Regards
Old 08-23-2004, 10:41 AM
DaChoZn1

It sure seems like it. This feathering crap is one of the things keeping me from being completely happy with my "Z". How can Nissan F-up such a beautiful car. They almost did everything right. If there was no such thing as the feathering, crappy bose, window streaking, thin paint and the low grade interior materials it would be perfect. If Honda can make a great all around car within the same price range, Nissan should be able to. Don't get me wrong. I love my Z. I just wish it had better build quality.
Old 08-23-2004, 10:49 AM
phoenixZ33

I don't see how two extra tires every 6-8 months (or longer) is enough to stop you from buying the car you really want. Tires aren't that expensive.. especially if the car otherwise is solid.

Regarding the subjective cheaper quality of the Z, unlike the S2000 the 350Z is probably making Nissan a profit. I highly doubt Honda is making much if anything on the S2000. And profit is what keeps Nissan in business at this point and gives them the ability to make a car like the Z.
Old 08-23-2004, 11:00 AM
The Brickyard Rat
350Z-holic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

My Brick's one & only problem is minor tire feathering.

I think not getting the Zzzz because of potential tire feathering is silly.

Nothing wrong with build quality of the Zzz. All cars havesome issue(s).

Nissan had to make some shortcuts to hit the price point; i.e. stero & interior. I've gotten used to the interior & even spending 1600 bucks to get a good sound system, I still think the car is a "buy".
Old 08-23-2004, 11:49 AM
NzZ