Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

10" subs? What should I buy?? (newbie)

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2005, 01:41 PM
BlueBlur

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 10" subs? What should I buy?? (newbie)

I am a newbie to the whole car stereo deal & I recently bought a set of MBQuarts component system that I liked b/c the high highs that they have.

I am looking for a 10" sub wolfer though to add to the system to give it a little bass. Not overwhelmed but enough to add some thump to the sound Can anyone suggest a good sub?......Thank in advance!!
Old 08-11-2005, 02:46 PM
VO...
Administrator

Received 2,747 Likes on 1,836 Posts

Pyramid is the way to go.
Attached Thumbnails 10" subs? What should I buy?? (newbie)-pw1065usx.jpg  
Old 08-11-2005, 02:58 PM
Paul350Z
Living in 350Z

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Where are you going to put it?

If in the stock position you'll need a "free air" woofer as that area is really leaky.

If in a box you'll need to know the volume in square feet of the box.
Old 08-11-2005, 05:29 PM
BlueBlur

Actually the guy in Ocean Audio(name of the shop) builds a custom box to put in the factory location. His shop loves Boston & Focal but I just want something that is going to compliment the MBQuarts but doesn't "propell me down the street" as one person put it....hope that helps narrow it down
Old 08-11-2005, 06:13 PM
Paul350Z
Living in 350Z

Nope.

How many cubic feet is the box?
Old 08-11-2005, 08:22 PM
MyZNeo

JL Audio makes a great box w/ 2 10's that is custom fit between the rear strut bar and rear panel. I put one in w/ a JL Audio 250/1 suppling the juice. Has the thump when you want it and sweet bass when needed. I also replaced all the stock Bose speakers with Polk Audio pro components.... By the way if you have the stock 10, DUMP IT TO!

Next pieces will be a JL Audio 300/4 to power an Alpine in-dash DVD unit... then the sound system will be complete!
Old 08-12-2005, 04:43 AM
SkiTTlez