Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

Avic-D3 Installed... but not 100%

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2008, 06:22 AM
BPS2007

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Avic-D3 Installed... but not 100%

Yeah so I had the avic-d3 professionally installed (yeah I know I shoulda done it myself cuz its so easy, I'm a newb moron jackass, whatever). It went into a 2008 base model, and even though I told him I wanted the bypass done, he ended up putting a switch in which acts as the e-brake wiring. So you think, OK, just put the switch ON and I'm all set, right? Nope... apparently the D3 shuts off VIDEO of the DVD, but maintains AUDIO of the DVD once I hit 5mph... he said that I need to download a firmware or software thing to a CD-R and upload that to the D3 to get rid of that... Also, my GPS icon doesn't run smoothly along the screen; it sorta hops/lags instead of a nice constant motion. Anyone have any ideas/steps I should take next to get this unit working 100%?

Thanks ahead of time!
Old 04-06-2008, 06:41 AM
JasonZ-YA
350Z-holic

Received 29 Likes on 20 Posts

search bypass on AVIC411.com

and do the bypass yourself....
as for the gps arrow lagging that sounds to be something with the VSS wire not connected properly....he probably has it connected to something else thats not the vss wire in the z?

- j
Old 04-06-2008, 08:09 AM
16psibrick
Sponsor
Simplicity in Sound

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

the d3 is a TWO wire bypass, he only did one of the wires.

b
Old 04-06-2008, 08:20 AM
dkmesa350z

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by 16psibrick
the d3 is a TWO wire bypass, he only did one of the wires.

b
What he said. The traditional grounding the e-brake wire isn't enough.
From Avic411:
'1. Remove the yellow and black mute wire.
2. Place the Mute wire in the slot directly above where you removed it from.
3. Using a wire tap (radio shack 10 for $5) connect the mute wire to the ground.