Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

2-12" sub box project...a few pics

Old 06-27-2008, 08:58 AM
  #41  
B5I8
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 294
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I don't suppose you could shorten the overall height of the box from 14" to say 12" (basically a chop top) and fit two 10's? I know this will affect the volume per chamber, but my subs only need about .75ft^3 before displacement. My 10's need about 8" of mounting depth and the magnet diameter is 7.3" so I hope they would fit. Cutout diameter would be 9 1/4" and outer diameter of the sub is 10 5/8".

Last edited by B5I8; 06-27-2008 at 09:32 AM.
B5I8 is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 09:40 AM
  #42  
350zspl
Banned
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: florida
Posts: 2,248
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

i would leave box as is take the extra space

spend $ 150 on a nice 12"

or $200 on 2 x 10"

just my hubble opinion
350zspl is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 10:27 AM
  #43  
B5I8
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 294
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 350zspl
i would leave box as is take the extra space

spend $ 150 on a nice 12"

or $200 on 2 x 10"

just my hubble opinion
I appreciate the suggestion, this box choice is a matter of personal preference. I already have the two 10's sitting in my closet. I also already have a different 10 in a custom enclosure under the strut bar and I really don't like it. I like the idea of having an enclosure that takes up the space behind the strut bar. I'm also willing to pay extra for what I want. I also looked at the "S Type" box but I don't think that would work for me either as there is not enough mounting depth and the woofer looks too close to the strut bar. The 10's I have need at least 2.5" from from the end of the box to the nearest object due to the high excursion.

Last edited by B5I8; 06-27-2008 at 10:31 AM.
B5I8 is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 10:32 AM
  #44  
350zspl
Banned
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: florida
Posts: 2,248
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

not a problem

if the box is about 2 ft gross as is
then if you reduce height about 2"
box will be roughly 1.5' gross
after sub displacement of 2 each 10"
you will wind up with about .5 or .6 per sub

and 1/2 cubic foot net per 10" is really on the tiny side , you might stuff box with poly fill and make up for the tiny size


what 10's are in your closet and how much net cubic space do they need sealed?
350zspl is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 10:46 AM
  #45  
B5I8
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 294
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 350zspl
not a problem

if the box is about 2 ft gross as is
then if you reduce height about 2"
box will be roughly 1.5' gross
after sub displacement of 2 each 10"
you will wind up with about .5 or .6 per sub

and 1/2 cubic foot net per 10" is really on the tiny side , you might stuff box with poly fill and make up for the tiny size


what 10's are in your closet and how much net cubic space do they need sealed?
.6ft^3 per sub would be perfect. I have TC Sounds OEM 10's sitting in my closet. Right now I have a Zapco DC Reference 500.1 powering a single 10W6v2 in a custom ported enclosure and it's not loud enough for me. My mids and highs almost drown the sub. I was planning on changing the Zapco to a Sundown SAZ-1500D and putting to use those OEM 10's that I've had for months but never used. Also, it's personal preference again as to why I would like the box's height cut down because it just looks too high as is. This is basically like having a custom JL Stealthbox.

Last edited by B5I8; 06-27-2008 at 10:51 AM.
B5I8 is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 10:50 AM
  #46  
350zspl
Banned
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: florida
Posts: 2,248
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

gotcha
350zspl is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 10:54 AM
  #47  
B5I8
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 294
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

If you look at the link for the OEM 10's, you can see that the magnet is huge on those things so I hope they'll fit.
B5I8 is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 11:09 AM
  #48  
350zspl
Banned
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: florida
Posts: 2,248
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

i am familar with tc sounds

are concered with cut out
or mounting depth

MD is 8 5/8" on box

cut out not sure
350zspl is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 11:10 AM
  #49  
350zspl
Banned
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: florida
Posts: 2,248
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

i may go
9512g 12"
incriminator audio 12" death penalty
audioque aluminum coil hdc312 12"
2008 fi btl 12"

and i opposite of you want to add to height

i need 2 ft net minimum
350zspl is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 11:12 AM
  #50  
B5I8
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 294
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 350zspl
i may go
9512g 12"
incriminator audio 12" death penalty
audioque aluminum coil hdc312 12"
2008 fi btl 12"

and i opposite of you want to add to height

i need 2 ft net minimum
Sounds like you're going strictly for SPL. Are you competing?
B5I8 is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 11:14 AM
  #51  
B5I8
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 294
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 350zspl
i am familar with tc sounds

are concered with cut out
or mounting depth

MD is 8 5/8" on box

cut out not sure
I'm just hoping with the reduced height, the outer part of the magnet is not going to hit the box.

After reading through the specs a little more, I don't think the magnet size is going to be an issue as the bottom depth of the box is 8.5" so it should clear no problem. I just hope he's willing to chop the top for me.

Now I just noticed the phone number at the top of the E-bay listing, maybe I should just call and ask.

Last edited by B5I8; 06-27-2008 at 11:21 AM.
B5I8 is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 11:26 AM
  #52  
B5I8
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 294
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I just got off the phone with them and it definitely sounds doable.
B5I8 is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 11:29 AM
  #53  
350zspl
Banned
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: florida
Posts: 2,248
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by B5I8
Sounds like you're going strictly for SPL. Are you competing?

yes sir
350zspl is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 11:30 AM
  #54  
350zspl
Banned
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: florida
Posts: 2,248
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by B5I8
I'm just hoping with the reduced height, the outer part of the magnet is not going to hit the box.

After reading through the specs a little more, I don't think the magnet size is going to be an issue as the bottom depth of the box is 8.5" so it should clear no problem. I just hope he's willing to chop the top for me.

Now I just noticed the phone number at the top of the E-bay listing, maybe I should just call and ask.
i feel he will do a one off for you
350zspl is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 11:31 AM
  #55  
350zspl
Banned
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: florida
Posts: 2,248
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

when Mike posts his tel # is in his Q & A 's
350zspl is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 11:36 AM
  #56  
B5I8
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 294
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Since you're doing SPL, I'm guessing you're going ported. That's going to be a bit more challenging for two 12's.

I can just see your subs popping the hatch open or possibly busting the glass .
B5I8 is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 11:39 AM
  #57  
mlg9770
Sponsor
ZEnclosures
Thread Starter
iTrader: (89)
 
mlg9770's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 398
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

for some reason I'm not receiving any notifications for emails or thread posts..hmmm

Anyway, I measured the box today. As is the box has 1.995ft^3 of airspace.

I recalculated the airspace with double thick baffle (1.50" thick) and the airspace drops to 1.851ft^3.

350zspl....After the displacement of the sub we discussed (.18) your net airspace will be 1.671ft^3. I left a message on your recorder.....give me a shout when you get a chance. Thanks Mike

B5I8......Thanks for the call. I'll have an answer this weekend. What mounting depth are you needing? I forgot to ask.

Thanks Mike
mlg9770 is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 11:41 AM
  #58  
350zspl
Banned
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: florida
Posts: 2,248
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

1 each 12" not 2


my current set up is

15 " dd 9515g
hifonics xxv maxximus 10 k @ 1 ohm
stinger 1000
stinger 680 x 3
3-5 can't remember stinger road kill trunk kits
alpine 9886
zed deuce with brown burr upgrade
cdt gold 6.5 " in door pods
cdt gold 5.25 " in suede kicks
multiple 1/0 runs



but i want to go to a new set up
350zspl is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 11:42 AM
  #59  
350zspl
Banned
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: florida
Posts: 2,248
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mlg9770
for some reason I'm not receiving any notifications for emails or thread posts..hmmm

Anyway, I measured the box today. As is the box has 1.995ft^3 of airspace.

I recalculated the airspace with double thick baffle (1.50" thick) and the airspace drops to 1.851ft^3.

350zspl....After the displacement of the sub we discussed (.18) your net airspace will be 1.671ft^3. I left a message on your recorder.....give me a shout when you get a chance. Thanks Mike

B5I8......Thanks for the call. I'll have an answer this weekend. What mounting depth are you needing? I forgot to ask.

Thanks Mike

busy at work

call you from home later to discuss with you
appreciated
350zspl is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 11:50 AM
  #60  
B5I8
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 294
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mlg9770
B5I8......Thanks for the call. I'll have an answer this weekend. What mounting depth are you needing? I forgot to ask.

Thanks Mike
I was reading the box specs and I saw the bottom mounting depth of the box was 8.5". If that's the most shallow part of the box, that's plenty of room for my subs as the mounting depth is a little less than 8". Would you be able to tell me the volume of airspace per chamber if we were to chop the top by 1.5" as well as 2"? I'm leaning more towards a 2" chop as I think there will still be enough airspace.

Thanks again Mike.

Last edited by B5I8; 06-27-2008 at 11:52 AM.
B5I8 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 2-12" sub box project...a few pics


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: