Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

AVH-3100DVD Head unit Install W/ DVD Bypass

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2009, 05:08 PM
BigJax21

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AVH-3100DVD Head unit Install W/ DVD Bypass

Hey guys,

I read a few other posts about installing a Head unit in the 350z and they were all helpful but seemed to be missing a few points. I decided to redo one since I just installed my own Pioneer today, and took pictures along the way. I drive an 03 Performance Edition without the bose system in it. So lets get started.

Products you need to have to install this unit is:
-The head unit (duh)
-The original brackets for your old unit
-A metra double din kit (looks like a single piece of trim... it is)
-Wiring Harness for a Nissan 350Z

Tools needed depends on the way you do it, since i am an electrical engineer I dont like to waste tape when I can make it clean and tape free, So ill list my way.
-Phillips head, Heat shrink Tubing (3/32), heat gun, Soldering Iron, Solder, Crimpers, spade connectors for the grounds.

For the bypass you will need a switch, which i will talk about later.

You will want to start with the wiring of the harness and the wires from the unit. I did this by tinning the tips of the wires first. To do that you expose the wire ends, twist them real tight, then heat them with a soldering iron and then cover them in just enough solder to cover the copper and make it silver. Next step is to take heat shrink tubing and cut a piece off for each wire and slide it on. Once all the wires are tinned and have tubing on them, I take the two corresponding wire colors and get them together, then heat it with a soldering iron and place a lil bit of solder on it to make sure they connect and let them cool together. Then slide the heat shrink over the connection and shrink it using the heat gun.