Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

Just finished a set of A-Pillar Tweeters

Old 09-11-2010, 10:58 PM
revvenue

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just finished a set of A-Pillar Tweeters

I'm a newb... but my fiance is out of town for the weekend and after having listened to my tweets on the pillar via velco sticky sticky... I couldn't get the thought out of my head to do the install, and this seemed like a perfect opportunity for no interruptions

The tweeters are .75 inches (from my Rockford Fosgate T1652-S Component set) I had originally decided to surface-mount them with the supplied tweeter baskets, but since having them in the car's stock location I could only locate the baskets for my Infinity Kappa set.

To make a long story short I ended up snapping the tweeter surface mount trim from over-tightening from the strange convex of the location. At that point (after calling a few shops and them not having any extra baskets...) I decided to do a DIY and get them installed this weekend.

Yes I'm a noob, and yes this is my first ever install so don't be too harsh on me!

I tried a few different specific spots for the tweeter before I found one that sounded good to me as well as would allow room for the install. With tuning, etc. aside here is what I did:

Got a port tube from a ported subwoofer enclosure to use for my trim.
Got a PVC connector from Home Depot that has 4 rings attached I could use for screw holes to make my tweeter baffle.
Bought a faux-suede curtain from Wal Mart (the Eclipse brand that is double-sided to block out 99% sunlight from your windows) to wrap my pillars with (no fabric stores here and this shouldn't fade in the sun)