Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

Suggestion/Help replacing H/U. N00b installer!

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2011 | 05:12 AM
Louis21

Default Suggestion/Help replacing H/U. N00b installer!

Hey guys,
I have an 07 Enthusiast (stock non bose system) and I am looking to replace the stock head unit, cd player will no longer feed CD's properly. The issue is I am a complete Noob when it comes to car audio. I have never installed or taken apart anything on the inside of my car, or any car for that matter.
I am not looking for anything flashy or fancy, I live in a condo and don't have a garage, last thing I want is to call attention to the car with a fancy head-unit that just screams to be broken into. Matter of fact if the stock head-unit still worked properly i wouldn't even bother with replacing it, however getting a stock head-unit i can just plug and play form the dealer is 300+
I am leaning towards a single din head-unit, after seeing most double din units start around 300.00. The only things I would like to have is ability to connect my iphone so i can stream music from it, I understand this could be done from a USB port so the H/U I am looking at all have a USB port on them
I am leaning towards:

Pioneer DEH-4300UB -simple headunit, nothing fancy 119.00
Pioneer DEH-7300BT- same as above but with bluetooth 169.00
Pioneer DEH-P8300UB - no bluetooth, Pandora radio compatible 179.00

1)Anyone has any experience with any of these?
2)Would I be able to stream music form my iphone via Bluetooth on the 7300BT? or is the Bluetooth only for calls?
Looking at Crutchfield it tells me I need the dash kit and a harness. I understand there is also a cable that I can get to be able to hook my steering wheel controls to the H/U but cannot find this yet.
I guess my main question is:

3)Should I get this installed? Or do you think it is easy enough for someone with NO experience to do it?