Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

Advice on what to do...not an audio expert-

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2011, 11:39 AM
Z4ToddB

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice on what to do...not an audio expert-

I've been doing a lot of reading on upgrading the Bose stereo, but not being an audio expert I'm getting confused. Here's my dilema...I bought a new head unit (Clarion CX201) and new door speakers (Polk Audio DB651S). I got it from Crutchfield so I got the wire harness adapters for the head unit included. Once I finally got the unit to work, I noticed the volume level doesn't go very high. Guess I expected a little more from the setup. Reading about the bose amps and the Ohms for the bose speakers, I'm wondering if having the aftermarket HU and front speakers run through the bose amp and using the back stock speakers might be causing the problem. The new deck has 21 watts per channel (50 peak). I don't crank it to ear splitting levels, but as is right now, road noise almost drowns out the music. I'll guess if I was just running off the decks power I'd at least get louder than right now. So, what's the best course to proceed to get some more volume (I'm on a tight budget). Should I:
1. Buy new back speakers and just ditch the wire harness from Crutchfield and hook up the stereo directly to the car and run new speaker wires to all 4 speakers?
2. Re-wire in some other fashion to use the bose amp, or is it pointless due to the decks wattage already or some other reason?
Sorry if I seem kinda stupid on the subject, but at the end of the day...I am. Reading post after post on the subject just seemed to confuse me on the subject more. Thanks much in advance for any help you can provide!
Old 07-18-2011, 12:18 PM
Blck350z

Received 1 Like on 1 Post