Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

*Potential* solution to Nav voice with aftermarket HU

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2011, 01:48 PM
Mike1082

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb *Potential* solution to Nav voice with aftermarket HU

I am currently in the planning stages of a new audio setup. I have done my fair share of searching and browsing the audio forum here, as well as other sites. The common conclusion to the question "Will my OEM navigation voice work with an aftermarket head unit?" tends to be NO, without wiring up another amp, and a separate, hidden speaker.

I used to be an amateur installer, and have done my fair share of setups in many different cars... and have been able to work around some strange situations with crappy OEM electronics (like our Bose system).

Anyway, I would like to share a couple of ideas I have floating around in my head. I have more or less done something similar in the past, and I am fairly certain this will work...

Scenario 1:
Relocate factory Bose radio (possibly in OEM Bose sub location, or somewhere else hidden). Wire the radio with power, ground, acc, amp remote, rear speaker leads (to factory Bose amp), and the nav harness. Using this setup, the factory Navigation will send its voice output through the OEM radio as intended by Nissan, through the factory Bose amp, and out to the rear speakers (OEM).

Scenario 2:
Remove OEM radio completely. Run audio leads from NAV harness directly to the line level inputs on the factory Bose amp, for the OEM rears. Run 12v ACC lead to amp turn on at the Bose amp.