Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

sony xav-ax100 in my 350Z

Old 08-29-2018, 12:05 PM
  #1  
Roger Ploum
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default sony xav-ax100 in my 350Z

Hi all,

I want.to buy the Sony XAV-AX100 for my 350z.
Can someone post which bracket and cables I need to use?
My car has the Bose system. Do I need some extra amplifier for this system?
Please, need some feedback.


Roger
Roger Ploum is offline  
Old 08-29-2018, 02:20 PM
  #2  
travlee
Master
iTrader: (8)
 
travlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 37,804
Received 5,946 Likes on 4,098 Posts
Default

Use the factory radio ears, and then you just need the trim bezel available anywhere
travlee is online now  
Old 08-29-2018, 03:02 PM
  #3  
MicVelo
350Z/370Z Tech Moderator
MY350Z.COM
 
MicVelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Northern California
Posts: 7,063
Received 1,995 Likes on 1,439 Posts
Default

Use google to find the correct bracket/cable kit (metra or somesuch) or just go to crutchfield.com for the install kit and/or buy the HU from them and get the kit free or reduced.

While there or wherever, look up the correct Bose adapter you NEED to run a non-Bose HU with the factory Bose amps which operate/output to lower impedance speakers. Believe its called “PAC ROEM nis-2” or something along those lines. Crutchfield will probably spec it after you input your car’s specifics.
MicVelo is offline  
Old 01-17-2019, 03:15 AM
  #4  
ernestz350b
Registered User
 
ernestz350b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I bought this radio 2 months ago but already can't find the correct cable to make it work with the adapter way. I'm thinking about changing the amplyfier etc.
Here you have my problem.
https://my350z.com/forum/audio-and-v...sn-t-work.html
ernestz350b is offline  
Old 01-17-2019, 07:20 AM
  #5  
khnitz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Livingston County, MI
Posts: 61
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

As mentioned in an earlier replay, this is an adapter that would allow you to retain the factory Bose amplifier and add the Sony radio:
https://pac-audio.com/catalog/radio-...ment/roem-nis2
khnitz is offline  
Old 04-19-2019, 06:08 PM
  #6  
Anxietylol
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Pennsylvania (USA)
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I bought this unit and used the PAC ROEM NIS2 harness and it worked amazing, the only issue i am having now is the FM radio is static, didn't ground the radio just yet but im still searching the web online because i keep hearing about blue/white to red or something
Anxietylol is offline  
Old 04-19-2019, 09:11 PM
  #7  
khnitz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Livingston County, MI
Posts: 61
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Anxietylol, it sounds like you may not have power going to the antenna amplifier.
khnitz is offline  
Old 04-20-2019, 03:06 PM
  #8  
Anxietylol
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Pennsylvania (USA)
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

which one is the power to the antenna for the xav 100? it is blue white REM OUT (MAX 0.4A) ?
most videos are saying to connect that one with the 12V RED

is this correct?
Anxietylol is offline  
Old 04-20-2019, 03:08 PM
  #9  
Anxietylol
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Pennsylvania (USA)
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I did buy an aftermarket XAV 100 harness because i bought the radio used, i need to figure out the e brake bybass now with no light green wire lol
Anxietylol is offline  
Old 04-21-2019, 03:23 PM
  #10  
Anxietylol
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Pennsylvania (USA)
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by khnitz View Post
Anxietylol, it sounds like you may not have power going to the antenna amplifier.
In case anyone in the future googles the a similar issue,

Wire the red to red which is your 12 volt, put add in the blue power antenna wire with the reds, this will fix the poor reception on certain radio channels.
Overall the head unit sounds AMAZING with the PAC ROEM NIS2 system (i don't even know if this made a difference.)

First time installing a HU and this was a pretty straight forward install outside of the radio issue
Anxietylol is offline  
The following users liked this post:
khnitz (04-23-2019)
Old 04-23-2019, 05:54 AM
  #11  
khnitz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Livingston County, MI
Posts: 61
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

The radio installation manuals can usually be found online, but the pin-for-pin pinout may not be in there, as they usually just indicate the wire color from the included harness and then the associated function.

The Blue or Blue/White wire out of the headunit is usually a remote turn-on lead - this is used to trigger the turn-on of a connected amplifier, but can also be used to power an antenna amplifier. I've known radios that had both (Blue and Blue/White) and if memory serves me, the Blue was for a powered antenna and would only be active when the tuner was active, and the Blue/White was for amplifier turn-on and would be active whenver the radio was powered On. Back in the day, motorized antennas were more of a thing, where the antenna would go up or down when the radio was turned on/off - they tended to fail a lot.

Your solution will work, as well - the antenna amplifier will be powered on whenever the ignition is turned on, regardless of the radio also being On. There really ins't an issue with this configuration, either.

Glad you figured out a solution!
khnitz is offline  
Old 05-09-2019, 10:17 AM
  #12  
BjonesZ33
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: New York
Posts: 29
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Steering wheel controls for xavax100

has anyone successfully retained there steering wheel controls? I've been trying to wire up an axxess aswc-1 but i can not for the life of me find the harness that i need to wire it into. I didn't have a bose unit, its an 06 enthusiast. if someone can help me out on finding that 8 pin harness that would be awesome. specifically need to tap into pins 21,22,23 as per instructions by axxess. also when i first installed the radio i never bothered wiring in the parking brake, am i missing a feature in the radio not having that wired in? i haven't noticed anything not working. thanks in advance
BjonesZ33 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
AdvanZ33
Audio Video
5
02-03-2015 05:34 PM
Jrussell42
Audio & Video
0
06-01-2012 11:34 AM
=BANKS=
Audio Video
8
10-13-2011 11:09 PM
=BANKS=
SoCal Marketplace
4
10-03-2011 11:15 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: sony xav-ax100 in my 350Z


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: