Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

Ported boxes for the Z

Old 05-09-2019, 07:42 PM
  #1  
thehelp
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: CA
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ported boxes for the Z

is the Z pretty easy to get loud in? I cut out the pieces for a back-firing, side-ported enclosure, and will be gluing it together tomorrow. Anyone have suggestions on what the Z likes, such as port and sub orientation? I have built a box for a 10" subwoofer that is 1.3 net tuned around 33hz with about 20 sq in of port area. Starting small right now with a 300-500rms amp, might go to 1200 rms later on.

Thank you!
thehelp is offline  
Old 05-19-2019, 01:46 PM
  #2  
jdmfetish
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 850
Received 86 Likes on 73 Posts
Default

Loud is subjective , loud to me in a Z33 is 150 DB sealed up on the term-lab @ 40 Hertz ..

But as loud goes you have an advantage in a Hatchback. Sounds like if your goal is 1500 watts tuned at 33 hertz with a single 10" your going more for nice sound that does well on the lows.


jdmfetish is offline  
Old 05-19-2019, 02:18 PM
  #3  
thehelp
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: CA
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

yeah I would need a very efficient box to do a 150 with a single 10 on 1500. Where is the port firing? What does it do on the meter if I may ask? I have about 1.8 cu ft gross so its about 1.3 net which is perfect for a 10. I am looking at the FI SSD's, hoping to do a small hairtrick, LOL I know.... who doesnt.. just hoping because the cabin is super small I can pull it off with a single 10. I rearranged the box to sub fire upward towards the hatch and port firing to the rear. I felt that firing to the side was too close to the wall and it wasnt "breathing" properly which made the lows sound non-existent.

Last edited by thehelp; 05-19-2019 at 02:46 PM.
thehelp is offline  
Old 05-20-2019, 06:06 AM
  #4  
jdmfetish
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 850
Received 86 Likes on 73 Posts
Default

You would need more than that to do 150 on the TL. I had 3 setups i was able , ( FI BTL 12" on a RF Power T4000 in 2.75' net cubes @ 40 hertz ) ( DD 9515G 15" on a Sundown SAZ -3500 in 3' net cubes @ 40 hertz ) ( DD 9515G 15" in 3' net @ 40 hz , on a Crunch GP3000D Pro Ground Pounder ) Plus 200 amp alternator , 2 AGM batteries , 6 runs of 0 awg 100% OFC copper . 200 square feet of roadkill, Subs always up , Port always driver side rear corner. .

I don't do that anymore my current set up i never metered , just music now for me . 2.25 ' net @ 30 hertz , 3 x Sundown E8's , off a sundown 2000, the lows kill .

Are you trying to meter high or trying to play lows , you can have 1 or the other in most cases never both .
jdmfetish is offline  
Old 05-20-2019, 07:06 AM
  #5  
thehelp
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: CA
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Not trying to do a 150 on the TL. I'm not going to add extra batteries, or alt. Never metered any of my cars, but just trying to smash the lows, and get lots of air movement on stock electrical. Would you say your E8s get pretty windy? Was just hoping because of a hatch and a small cabin it would be easier to do on stock electical
thehelp is offline  
Old 05-20-2019, 08:01 AM
  #6  
jdmfetish
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 850
Received 86 Likes on 73 Posts
Default

2 runs of 0 awg for your + & -
Big 3 in 0 awg
stock alt is 140 amps
do that and you can run the 1500 @ 1 ohm just fine
tune low 30 hertz
you will move air and it will get low
hair tricks probably no
jdmfetish is offline  
Old 05-20-2019, 09:19 AM
  #7  
thehelp
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: CA
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the advice, Do you think a sealed 15 would move more air? I have modeled an FI X 10" and SSD 10" in WinISD in the same 1.3 net enclosure, and WinISD showed that the X would outperform the SSD in every single frequency. Should I go with the X based on WinISD?

Last edited by thehelp; 05-20-2019 at 10:17 AM.
thehelp is offline  
Old 05-20-2019, 11:08 AM
  #8  
jdmfetish
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 850
Received 86 Likes on 73 Posts
Default

I really don't like sealed at all.

what amp ?
jdmfetish is offline  
Old 05-20-2019, 11:36 AM
  #9  
thehelp
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: CA
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Right now i got an Alpine MRV-M500, but will switch out to the Pioneer GM-D9601 I have in another car later on. Pioneer should be good for 1200 rms

Last edited by thehelp; 05-20-2019 at 11:41 AM.
thehelp is offline  
Old 05-20-2019, 11:54 AM
  #10  
jdmfetish
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 850
Received 86 Likes on 73 Posts
Default


I don't think you'll see 1200 watts out of that amp

ssd vs x , get the sub that you have the correct power to feed it to its full potential
jdmfetish is offline  
Old 05-20-2019, 12:12 PM
  #11  
thehelp
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: CA
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I wont see 1200 watts because the amp wont make it or because impedence rise, voltage drop, and my stock electrical? I bought the amp exactly because of that vid hahaha. Well the X is rated for 1000 rms and SSD for 1250 rms, lets pretend they both would see 1200. Should I be using WinISD for comparing subwoofers in the same enclosure?
thehelp is offline  
Old 05-20-2019, 12:32 PM
  #12  
jdmfetish
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 850
Received 86 Likes on 73 Posts
Default

http://www.caraudiobargain.com/new-cab-2000-1/

something like that ^^^ money better spent , and i would buy the sub more musically inclined , as both are 3" voice coils , this way you would not be asking your amp to give it all it has , all the time


My $00.02
jdmfetish is offline  
Old 05-20-2019, 12:56 PM
  #13  
thehelp
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: CA
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I wanted to buy the CAB1600 when I bought that pioneer but it wasnt available anymore. I'd buy the bigger amp but its because I already have the pioneer, I suppose I could sell it in the future. I wanted the SSD because its depth is small enough to fit in my box with slightly more xmax with the high xmax soft suspension option, but if WinISD says the X outperforms it everywhere I guess Im going with the X and inverting it.
thehelp is offline  
Old 05-20-2019, 02:45 PM
  #14  
jdmfetish
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 850
Received 86 Likes on 73 Posts
Default

sounds cool
jdmfetish is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
ralphpolanco
Audio & Video
2
01-30-2006 05:46 PM
VQ35Kompressor
Engine & Drivetrain
3
01-26-2004 07:21 PM
mgoza
Audio & Video
3
04-09-2003 02:22 PM
jvolpe
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z
0
11-21-2002 04:48 PM
MaxTR
Nitrous Oxide
1
10-03-2002 01:33 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Ported boxes for the Z


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: