Bass Link installed in Factory Space! - MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion



Audio Builds Audio projects and builds from my350z members

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-05-2003, 07:38 PM   #1
joust75
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
joust75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sesame Street
Posts: 5,110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Bass Link installed in Factory Space!

Got the bass link to keep my four other infinitys company. As you can see it is mounted in the stock sub spot. Also we dyno matted the hell out of the area. It works.
Nice clean base and no rattles. I am a happy man.

At 200 watts, it aint overkill, but I dont need that much. Especially with a cabin this small!

Factory Cover purchased thru UltimateZ.com
Attached Thumbnails
Bass Link installed in Factory Space!-bass-1.jpg  
joust75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2003, 07:39 PM   #2
joust75
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
joust75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sesame Street
Posts: 5,110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

mas
Attached Thumbnails
Bass Link installed in Factory Space!-bass2.jpg  
joust75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2003, 07:40 PM   #3
joust75
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
joust75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sesame Street
Posts: 5,110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

As you can see it is bolted to the metal above and is facing down.
Attached Thumbnails
Bass Link installed in Factory Space!-bass-3.jpg  
joust75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2003, 07:42 PM   #4
joust75
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
joust75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sesame Street
Posts: 5,110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

For those considering this, I highly reccomend it! Excuse me everyone, I am going for a drive!

PS Even the installers were impressed with how good it sounds!
Attached Thumbnails
Bass Link installed in Factory Space!-base-4.jpg  
joust75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2003, 08:25 PM   #5
Mr.Blue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm Jealous. I had the same idea going through my head. I am glad to see that it worked out well for ya. Did you Dynomat only the sub compartment or did you do the entire area including the rear speakers?
Mr.Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2003, 09:39 PM   #6
Jordanz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Weatherford, Texas
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Man thats exactly what i am going to do. Why did you mount it down, could you rig up a bracket to point the sub toward the opening, just an idea. Exactly how much dynamat did u use
Jordanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2003, 11:25 PM   #7
joust75
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
joust75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sesame Street
Posts: 5,110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

We used one $69 pack of dynomat. I am unsure of the square footage. I only had the enclosure wrapped. That was all I needed. I am not running a four channel amp. through the speakers and tweets I am just doing my sony 52watts per channel. I dont need an eardrum blasting showcar!

The unit is mounted facing down because the position is acoustically superior to angling it out. The mount position also has the most level surface.
Cosmetically it might suck that it is not angled out but IDGAF
If you are considering doing this, I reccomend you do it the same way! Dont assume the installer will take the trouble to test how it sounds best.
Again this is not the route to go if you like impressing people in 'the hood'. It is the way to go if you want a nice clean all around system. Don't worry, It may be civilized, but it still thumps!!
joust75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2003, 06:55 AM   #8
Raistlin
Registered User
 
Raistlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That is an awesome idea, couple questions.....

What size (or model) is the Bass Link?

What brackets did you use to mount it? (size..etc)
Where did you buy them?

Thanks
Raistlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2003, 09:27 AM   #9
mark350
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: sitting too close to the tv
Posts: 258
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Right on!!! something else to add to my future plans list.
mark350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2003, 11:00 AM   #10
toykilla
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Houston - Texas
Posts: 2,926
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Raistlin
That is an awesome idea, couple questions.....

What size (or model) is the Bass Link?

What brackets did you use to mount it? (size..etc)
Where did you buy them?

Thanks

Basslink is made by Infinity.

It is a subwoofer unit with a built in amplifier. All you need for it to work is to run RCAs or speaker wires to the unit and power source (direct from battery)

It comes with all necessary hardware for mounting. It sounds amazing for the size (when tuned right )
toykilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2003, 11:19 AM   #11
Stone Z
Registered User
 
Stone Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,680
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up

Hell yeah....this is exactly what I was wanting to hear. I'm glad someone finally took the plunge and tested it out. The only thing I was concerned about was the sound quality, and apparently that's not an issue. This is definitely going to happen now.

Thanks a lot!
Stone Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2003, 01:15 PM   #12
Raistlin
Registered User
 
Raistlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by toykilla
Basslink is made by Infinity.

It is a subwoofer unit with a built in amplifier. All you need for it to work is to run RCAs or speaker wires to the unit and power source (direct from battery)

It comes with all necessary hardware for mounting. It sounds amazing for the size (when tuned right )
I knew it was made by Infinity, I just wasn't sure if there were different models with different size woofers.

Thanks for the 411 though
Raistlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2003, 01:42 PM   #13
Stone Z
Registered User
 
Stone Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,680
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Did you use all four mounting brackets or just the two in front?
Stone Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2003, 02:28 PM   #14
ADMAN
Registered User
iTrader: (9)
 
ADMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SIN CITY
Posts: 1,678
Thanked 89 Times in 58 Posts
Default

Coolness. You beat me to it. I was going to do the same thing. I
just hadn't gotten to pulling the panel and seeing if the BassLink
would fit. I had a feeling I wouldn't have enough room to stand it
up the right way. As you said, it probably wouldn't have sounded
as good anyway.

Good job!!! Thanks for the much awaited photos too!!!


ADMAN
ADMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2003, 03:47 PM   #15
joust75
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
joust75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sesame Street
Posts: 5,110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

All brackets were used to mount the Baselink! I was all set to have a custom fiberglass box made then installed in that area, but I said F*K it. It was literally an impulse decision.
I had been thinking about it but I went in to Circuit city not knowing what to do. I just pointed at the thing and said : PUT THAT IN MY CAR!
Thanks for the complements. it was my pleasure to post the pictures!

Added bonus: Theives will not see the woofer, but even if they know about it they will need a good 2 hours to tear apart that section of the car! That thing is in there!
joust75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2003, 03:55 PM   #16
ADMAN
Registered User
iTrader: (9)
 
ADMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SIN CITY
Posts: 1,678
Thanked 89 Times in 58 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by joust75
Added bonus: Theives will not see the woofer...
Unless they're on here right now reading your post...


Thanks again,


ADMAN
ADMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2003, 03:56 PM   #17
Stone Z
Registered User
 
Stone Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,680
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally posted by joust75
We used one $69 pack of dynomat. I am unsure of the square footage.
Circuit City uses a new brand of deadening made by Tsunami. It's supposed to be a little thicker and stick better than Dynomat. From the price, it looks like you used the *door* package which is 12 sq. ft.
Stone Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2003, 04:00 PM   #18
Stone Z
Registered User
 
Stone Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,680
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

joust75

Did you have them install the Bass Level Controller?
Stone Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2003, 11:48 PM   #19
joust75
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
joust75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sesame Street
Posts: 5,110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Stone Z
Circuit City uses a new brand of deadening made by Tsunami. It's supposed to be a little thicker and stick better than Dynomat. From the price, it looks like you used the *door* package which is 12 sq. ft.
That is exactly right! Someone has done his research!
joust75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2003, 11:56 PM   #20
joust75
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
joust75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sesame Street
Posts: 5,110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Stone Z
joust75

Did you have them install the Bass Level Controller?
I had no need for this. My HU is freaking awesome, I have a base control just like all stereos and a subwoofer level control on the sound menu along with the treble, base, balance and fade. The unit plugged right into the Sony HU. No wiring tricks or splicing necessary. A clean easy install!

BTW, I highly reccomend this model. It matches the Z dash better than any other aftermarket HU. It is the Sony CDX CA810X XPLODE.

I posted some pics a while back, Ill try to find the link to the thread!
joust75 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
~Greddy Revolution Exhaust 03-08 350Z $1165 SHIPPED!!!~ [email protected] Engine 31 12-21-2016 09:32 AM
Up to Date Coilover Review/Recommendations for a balance of track/drift/slam Lt_Ballzacki Brakes & Suspension 13 10-24-2015 08:56 AM
Oil change with aftermarket oil cooler XM 1 Engine & Drivetrain 11 10-01-2015 10:44 PM


Tags
350z, 370z, baselink, basslink, cdxca810x, difference, factory, install, joust75, nissan, replace

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Copyright 2002 - 2017, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send