2x 15" dc subs =) - Page 3 - MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion



Audio Builds Audio projects and builds from my350z members

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-01-2013, 09:38 PM   #41
wrecker
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: vancouver
Posts: 184
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

waiting for some new amps and another battery
ordered some neo magnets for mounting some trim panels

Last edited by wrecker; 06-06-2013 at 06:36 PM.
wrecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 03:15 PM   #42
wrecker
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: vancouver
Posts: 184
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

made the bottom trim.. .
working on the sides now
Attached Thumbnails
2x 15" dc subs =)-pict3958.jpg   2x 15" dc subs =)-pict3959.jpg  
wrecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 03:45 PM   #43
Collin Lacy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 189
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Man, seeing two giant subs there is freakin cool. I almost feel like they would bash into your seat when they hit too hard! XMAX TOO HIGH!
Collin Lacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 09:23 PM   #44
wrecker
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: vancouver
Posts: 184
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

finished the last 2 front panels..
I'm still waiting for mounting hardware..
the piece is just sitting in there.. it will bolt up flush n toight
Attached Thumbnails
2x 15" dc subs =)-pict3960.jpg   2x 15" dc subs =)-pict3961.jpg   2x 15" dc subs =)-pict3969.jpg  
wrecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 09:30 PM   #45
wrecker
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: vancouver
Posts: 184
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

EQ time
Attached Thumbnails
2x 15" dc subs =)-pict3980.jpg  
wrecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 10:24 PM   #46
wrecker
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: vancouver
Posts: 184
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

testing a new amp out..
the sound is a fair bit clearer.. but not as loud as the old amp..
im undecided
maybe i will try a pdx f6 .. see if its any louder
Attached Thumbnails
2x 15" dc subs =)-pict3982.jpg   2x 15" dc subs =)-pict3983.jpg  
wrecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 04:16 PM   #47
wrecker
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: vancouver
Posts: 184
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Well after running this alpine pdx f4.. I'm thinking i might send it back..
Amp gets insane hot ! cant touch the dam thing.
It gets this hot running about half the volume..

Anyone else have problems with these amps getting that hot ?
For the amount i play my stereo im sure it will burn out in a year.
not happy

Last edited by wrecker; 06-22-2013 at 04:17 PM.
wrecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 05:04 PM   #48
Collin Lacy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 189
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Are you running it at a 2 ohm load? I thought all the PDX amps were class D and super efficient... My amp used to get really hot but it was class A/B on the speaker side.
Collin Lacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 11:06 PM   #49
wrecker
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: vancouver
Posts: 184
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ya its a class D 4 and 2 ohm stable..
i dunno im puzzled
running 2 sets of alpine components .. they are 4 ohm so it should be no problem at all
hope i dont have a bad amp..
calling alpine monday morning.
wrecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 06:44 AM   #50
ranger92998
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: western ny
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you didnt clearify if your using it for your subs or your mids/highs..Alpine are 2 ohm per channel stable, which is the same load as 4 ohm bridged (4 ohm bridged=2ohm per channel load). You cannot run 2 ohm bridged (2ohm bridged= 1 ohm per ch.) Also, I see your pheonix gold eq..is that also a line driver? keep in mind the gain is NOT a volume control, but used to equal the input sensitivity of the amp the the output voltage of the radio/eq. Some more details would be helpful.
ranger92998 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 08:49 AM   #51
CourtesyFlush
Registered User
 
CourtesyFlush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Holy **** man, that is insane.Very nicely done.
CourtesyFlush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 10:56 AM   #52
wrecker
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: vancouver
Posts: 184
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ranger92998 View Post
you didnt clearify if your using it for your subs or your mids/highs..Alpine are 2 ohm per channel stable, which is the same load as 4 ohm bridged (4 ohm bridged=2ohm per channel load). You cannot run 2 ohm bridged (2ohm bridged= 1 ohm per ch.) Also, I see your pheonix gold eq..is that also a line driver? keep in mind the gain is NOT a volume control, but used to equal the input sensitivity of the amp the the output voltage of the radio/eq. Some more details would be helpful.
ya im running the 2 15" dc subs off the alpine 4 channel amp at .05 ohms
wrecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 12:58 PM   #53
Collin Lacy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 189
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrecker View Post
ya im running the 2 15" dc subs off the alpine 4 channel amp at .05 ohms
Wait im confused, 2 posts ago you said you were just running the 2 sets of alpine components off of it (this would mean one woofer/tweeter combo per channel).
If you have the pdx f4 running bridged at a .5 ohm load then you've got bigger ***** than I do.
Collin Lacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 01:30 PM   #54
wrecker
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: vancouver
Posts: 184
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Collin Lacy View Post
Wait im confused, 2 posts ago you said you were just running the 2 sets of alpine components off of it (this would mean one woofer/tweeter combo per channel).
If you have the pdx f4 running bridged at a .5 ohm load then you've got bigger ***** than I do.
i though it was funny
wrecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 01:35 PM   #55
wrecker
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: vancouver
Posts: 184
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

its just a basic setup with the front stage .. 1 tweet and 6.5 on each channel is 4 ohm..
its not a wiring issue.. or clipping / distortion /
clearly the amp is poop
wrecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 09:13 AM   #56
Collin Lacy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 189
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrecker View Post
i though it was funny
Haha, I didn't register the sarcasm at first, now that I go back and read it I see it in a whole new light lol.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrecker View Post
its just a basic setup with the front stage .. 1 tweet and 6.5 on each channel is 4 ohm..
its not a wiring issue.. or clipping / distortion /
clearly the amp is poop
Ya sounds like either the amp just runs hot (which seems wrong) or you got a poopoo one. Good luck getting it sorted out.
Collin Lacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 12:36 PM   #57
wrecker
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: vancouver
Posts: 184
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

new part today
Attached Thumbnails
2x 15" dc subs =)-pict3985.jpg   2x 15" dc subs =)-pict3986.jpg   2x 15" dc subs =)-pict3987.jpg  
wrecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 08:26 PM   #58
quakerroatmeal
Registered User
iTrader: (9)
 
quakerroatmeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 5,441
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

No videos yet? Those door pods look insane with 2 sets of components mounted. How's it sound? I might make a switch from HDC3's to DC subs.
quakerroatmeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 12:01 PM   #59
wrecker
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: vancouver
Posts: 184
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ya no vids.. only have a i4 atm
The pods sound really dam good. I'm really happy with it.

today i did a Big 3 or 4 what ever u wanna call it ..
still using stalk alt.. ran 1x zero gauge off the alt to the battery.
And ya its fairly difficult getting to the alt.. Brutal design Nissan.
Attached Thumbnails
2x 15" dc subs =)-pict3990.jpg   2x 15" dc subs =)-pict3989.jpg   2x 15" dc subs =)-pict3988.jpg  
wrecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 11:22 AM   #60
Collin Lacy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 189
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Man thats a lot of heavy gauge wire. Guess you need it though lol. How long did it take you to run the alt-battery cable? I keep wanting to do it but its hot outside in arizona and I don't want to have to work at it for hours.
Collin Lacy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Touchscreen in a Roadster jlb Audio & Video 6 05-21-2017 11:20 AM
FS: Part out thread BEBO'S ZEE SoCal Marketplace 12 06-07-2016 07:48 AM
FS: [Portland,OR] 2005 BASE MT 50.9K RED APS TT 378WHP 7lbs $17K CLEAN TITLE bcoffee20 Zs & Gs For Sale 5 11-19-2015 06:39 PM
My350z Featured Car of The Month? Tochigi_236 Feedback & Suggestions for Our Forum 8 09-27-2015 03:40 PM
350Z Roadster (looking for bass) Ryan Bonner 350Z Roadster 1 09-08-2015 04:16 AM


Tags
15, audio, dc, lvl, my350z, subs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:36 AM.


Copyright 2002 - 2017, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: