Notices
Autocross/Road SCCA Solo II, SCCA Club Racing, Redline Track Events, Speed Trial, Speed Ventures, Grand-Am Cup, JGTC, Procar Australia

Camber curves

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2006, 06:47 AM
uwaeve

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Camber curves

This is a long shot, and I'm not even sure I'll know how to use the information, but has anyone measured the camber curves for the stock suspension?

The reason I ask is that I will be trying my first set of RA1s soon. So far my street tires have worn pretty evenly across the tread. Since I'm assuming the RA1s will have the car developing more roll, I'm interested to see if the camber change from the increased travel will help keep the tire on the ground.

I know, the best way to measure this is to LOOK AT THE TIRES after a couple of track days. However, since I'm an analyst and need to know how everything works, I thought maybe someone had either measured this on an alignment rack or put the end locations and lengths of the suspension members into one of those whiz-bang software packages that will show you this junk.

Thanks in advance.

uwaeve
soon-to-be-tire-flipper
Old 07-17-2006, 03:55 PM
Kolia

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Pictures ?
Old 07-17-2006, 04:28 PM
dnguyent

hmmm, how timely. I was just having some good email chats with a couple members regarding tire wear and alignment.

I've run Pirelli Corsas for the past 4 track days, and have what I consider unusual tire wear. The attached picture is from Geoff's car, but my wear is very similar. Wear is noticeably worse along the outer treadblocks, as you can see where the tire grooves vanish, and reappear near mold line.