Notices
Autocross/Road SCCA Solo II, SCCA Club Racing, Redline Track Events, Speed Trial, Speed Ventures, Grand-Am Cup, JGTC, Procar Australia

HPDE newbie

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2007, 11:12 AM
LifeIsRisky

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Red face HPDE newbie

Like the title says I am a HPDE newbie, I was going to say virgin but that just has a tendency to take the thread in the wrong direction . Anyway, looking at doing a few of the semi-local (within 300 miles or so) HPDE events and wanted recommendations on what you would do to prepare a stock car to "survive" and benefit from such an event or string of such events ?

Any help and suggestions are appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Old 08-03-2007, 11:35 AM
betamotorsports

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Covered lots of times in this forum. Search on road racing, HPDE, open track, time trial, etc.
Old 08-03-2007, 02:15 PM
Blu_Blur

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Upgrade your brakes, lines, fluids and pads. In addition, get new tires that are R-compounds if you can afford them and then get some Hotchkis adjustable sways.

If you want to improve hp cheaply, delete your cat sand get test pipes.

These will all help your times and overall performance noticeably from stock.
Old 08-03-2007, 02:22 PM
davidv

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

HPDE is for learning how to drive fast "as is." There will be everything there from stock Neons to modified Corvettes. The 350Z is made for driving fast. As long as you have a tow hook and a full take of gas you will be fine.
Old 08-03-2007, 02:41 PM
joeygill

The only thing you might want to change, and this is from a safety standpoint, is your brake pads and fluid.
Old 08-03-2007, 03:40 PM
first350

Originally Posted by joeygill
The only thing you might want to change, and this is from a safety standpoint, is your brake pads and fluid.
+1,000

*many ppl recomdend to learn how to drive on street tires before moving to R-comps...IMO it's good advice.
Old 08-03-2007, 03:45 PM
Beau