Notices
Autocross/Road SCCA Solo II, SCCA Club Racing, Redline Track Events, Speed Trial, Speed Ventures, Grand-Am Cup, JGTC, Procar Australia

Brake question - stock rotors running too hot for track?

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2010, 03:20 PM
solidfish

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake question - stock rotors running too hot for track?

Last week I had my second track experience at Laguna Seca. I'm running stock tires and brakes (non-brembos) and I'm concerned about the threshold of these brakes.

In the afternoon, after a 20 minute session the rotors were very hot, with a bright orange glow. Later at home, I noticed that the rotors actually changed colors to a pale orange.

The pads seem fine, but they dug into the rotor a bit. There is a small groove indented into the rotor from the pads. But the rotors dont have cracks and I cant see any other problems. I'm hoping these are still safe to drive on? I'm still kind of new to the track but should I be concerned about safety when running the stock brakes? I dont think I push the car to the limits, but I'm wondering if I should upgrade the brakes before heading out to the track again.

Last edited by solidfish; 02-28-2010 at 03:52 PM.
Old 02-28-2010, 05:06 PM
DozJr7

What brake fluid are you using? I'd be more worried about your brake fluid boiling. Stock brakes and rotors will hold up a couple track days. If your are a regular at the track then it would be wise to upgrade pads and rotors anyways. Pads I recommend Carbotech. Blank rotors are best for track due to more surface area. Check www.r1concepts.com for some decent pricing plus quality.

Last edited by DozJr7; 02-28-2010 at 05:14 PM.
Old 02-28-2010, 05:45 PM
davidv

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Brakes look good to me. Yes. If you heat cool heat cool rotors they will change color. No big deal.
Old 02-28-2010, 11:52 PM
terrasmak
Super Moderator
MY350Z.COM
Premier MemberSuper Moderator

Received 2,333 Likes on 1,681 Posts