Notices
Autocross/Road SCCA Solo II, SCCA Club Racing, Redline Track Events, Speed Trial, Speed Ventures, Grand-Am Cup, JGTC, Procar Australia

Countering Oversteer but not drifting

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2011, 12:26 PM
solidfish

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Countering Oversteer but not drifting

I'm still a newbie tracker trying to improve my track times. In recent track events, I've been experimenting with my turn entry/exit speeds. Of course its different per condition (track/turn) but recently I've been getting more oversteer than before. Probably because my speeds have increased.

When the rear starts to slide on a turn, I countersteer but keep off the gas to prevent drift. But as the rear regains traction it slingshots to the other side, causing me to counter the other way. Basically it puts me in a bit of a tail spin (or wagging?) as I go from side to side.

From what I've read, the better approach is to give slight jolts of countersteer while in the turn. This can prevent the slide in the first place. Not sure if I'm explaining this correctly but was hoping to get some insights.

Last edited by solidfish; 01-06-2011 at 12:27 PM.
Old 01-06-2011, 12:55 PM
Shamu

Sounds like you are letting off too aggressively and counter steering a little too much. You need to develop a feeling for the car just as it starts to oversteer and give little inputs as opposed to big sloppy counter steers.

Interesting thing is if you are recovering from a sloppy countersteer you probably arent close to the limit of the car in turns. You may be entering turns too fast with car unsettled as well.
Old 01-06-2011, 01:01 PM
ThreeFiveZero Z

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If you are coasting/lifting in the turn, thats your problem right there. The worst thing you can do is lift, because the weight of the car shifts forward, rear gets light and gets loose.