Notices
Autocross/Road SCCA Solo II, SCCA Club Racing, Redline Track Events, Speed Trial, Speed Ventures, Grand-Am Cup, JGTC, Procar Australia

Lots of body roll or expected behavior?

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2017, 09:24 AM
JMII

Received 41 Likes on 39 Posts
Question Lots of body roll or expected behavior?

So I've been tracking my 2003 Touring for 4 years now and slowly improving my times and enjoying things. Several months ago I added a Hotchkis sway bar set at hole 3 front (82% stiffer) and hole 1 rear (80% stiffer) and while turn in seems better the car still leans like tall ship in heavy seas... see attached pictures.

Is this expected on stock suspension? I honestly thought the sway bar would level things out more. Car has 71K miles and suspension seems fine, it doesn't squeak or rattle. Should I just go stiffer on the front bar or do I need to start looking into springs/dampers or coilovers?

I have not modified the suspension yet because the car rides so stiffly already. It crashes over bumps and jolts you around plenty as is. Things got a little worst when I added the Akebono brakes and bigger tires (245/40-18 front - 265/40-18 rear Hankook RS3 on V2 Touring Wheels) I assume due to the larger unsprung mass. However rough riding seems to be a standard '03 Z handling trait and I certain don't want it to become any worst since the car is also my Daily Driver.
Old 10-23-2017, 02:11 PM
dkmura
General & DIY Moderator
MY350Z.COM

Received 1,292 Likes on 896 Posts

Ride isn't affected by swaybar settings, unless you're driving up steep, jagged mountains. There's not a lot of ride height built into the Z33 and I notice how many potholes and expansion joints simply jolt my Z onto the bump stops. The Z33 racecar is quite a bit stiffer, and I'm currently converting it over to full Koni 2812s DA shocks, so body roll isn't the biggest issue. I'd suggest at least trying the front bar on full stiff, if you haven't already.
Old 10-23-2017, 03:20 PM
MicVelo