Notices
Autocross/Road SCCA Solo II, SCCA Club Racing, Redline Track Events, Speed Trial, Speed Ventures, Grand-Am Cup, JGTC, Procar Australia

Beginner Track Setup - Springs, Understeer, Tires?

Old 07-14-2018, 03:33 AM
VoodooBoot

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Beginner Track Setup - Springs, Understeer, Tires?

Hello, everyone.

I have been lurking here for about a year. I have read and learned a lot, such a great community. However, there are a few things that I can't figure out.

I have a 2008 350Z that I am building into a track/canyon fun car (not a daily driver). I am a beginner when it comes to track riding or car tuning, though I love working on my car. I am currently installing suspension front and back, diff, etc. and have a few concerns about spring rates and understeer.

Goal
Goal is to have a good base that I can learn on using normal tires. I know the car would have been more than enough to learn on in stock form, but I was kind of forced to upgrade some suspension parts, so I went ahead and did everything
I prefer understeer for now until I have more experience and can cope with a car that handles more neutrally.

Mods
  • BC BR true coilovers with 14/12 springs.
  • Whiteline sway bar kit.
  • Nismo LSD.
  • Bushings front and back, subframe and diff.
  • Adjustable UCA in the front.
  • Adjustable arms in the back.
  • Wheels: 18-inch Enkei RPF1's, either 9.5/10.5 or 10.5 squared.
  • Tyres: Wanted to run 265/35 & 285/35 on 9.5/10.5, but tire selection is limited in that size. Other choices would be 265/35 & 275/35 staggered, 275/35 squared or 285/35 squared (on 10.5 wheels). I want to run normal road tires for now (PS4, FK510, for example). I am not too keen on running 10.5 squared with 285s, but it is an option.
  • Rotors and pads, steel lines, RBF600.
  • Seats, harnesses, 4-point roll bar, etc.
  • Power: car is N/A and will stay N/A for a while. I am installing HFCs and exhaust, and will have the car UpRev tuned.
Setup