Notices
Brakes & Suspension 350Z stoppers, coils, shocks/dampers

s-tune vs. revised suspension

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2008, 11:46 AM
eddiebrock71

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default s-tune vs. revised suspension

Looking for suspension experts comments.

How is the NISMO s-tune suspension compared to the new 2004.5 + suspension revision. Understeer vs. neutral vs. oversteer.
comfort level.

NISMO s-tunes have progressive rate springs 448/504 (F+43% R+48% compared to 2003 suspension) vs. 314/427 for the revised suspension.

NISMO sways +18% stiffer front, and 1% softer in the rear (compared to the 2003 suspension) vs. +17% stiffer front, rear the same for the revised suspension.

Notwithstanding the NISMO s-tune will have a lower center of gravity, but would it be more neutral than the 2004+ revised suspension?

I am no expert but from doing a little research, whenever you increase the stiffness of your rear swaybar or rear springs understeer will be reduced. And according to the specs, the revised suspension has a greater stiffness to the rear, due to the swaybar being stiffer, and it also has a greater rear to front spring rate (a 113 lb difference), compared to the 54 lb difference in the NISMO s-tune. also the NISMO rear sway is softer so sends more bias back to the front.

So according to these number the revised suspension should be more neutral, or maybe a little more prone to oversteer than the NISMO s-tune.

also the revised suspension uses linear rate springs, so it would be more predictable. the NISMO is progressive, which would make it more comfortable.

Not being an expert or anything here, would the NISMO s-tune even be worth it on a z with the revised suspension?

would not the revised suspension be more neutral or tend to oversteer?