Notices
Buying/Leasing 350Z/370Z Purchasing Info

What % of your income should your car cost?

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2006, 08:54 AM
FreeBaGeL

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What % of your income should your car cost?

Hi there, recent college grad here. Being such, I'm working full-time now, though as a recent grad I'm making only a moderate amount. I've gone through all the calculations and whatnot and the Z seems pretty affordable to me, but being new to the whole new car process (most I've ever spent on a car is $4800), I figured I'd ask a few more general questions first.

First off, what price car can one generally afford compared to their yearly income. My yearly salary would be just a bit more than the total price of a new '06 Z, is that pushing it too close (although I've also saved up about 8k-9k to put down on the car)?

If that's too general, we can break it down monthly. After my down payment, my car payments the next 5 years would be about 1/5th of my monthly income. Is that a fair amount to be allotted to a car payment?

Thanks in advance fellas, I just want to make sure I'm not getting in over my head here.
Old 03-06-2006, 09:04 AM
BhashaZ

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Hey, I probably can't answer that question as well as other people, but do you have student loans, rent, or any other expenses?

BTW: good to see someone seriously consider their finances before making a purchase
Old 03-06-2006, 09:20 AM
davidv

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

The cost of a 350Z can fool you. Not the monthly loan payments, but insurance and routine maintenance. When you start paying $800 for tires the costs can add up quickly. Popular posts on this forum include:

My rent went up. I have to get rid of the Z.

My wife is having a baby. I have to get rid of the Z.

I'm short on spending money. I have to get rid of the Z.

I'm buying a house. I have to get rid of the Z.
Old 03-06-2006, 09:29 AM
cessna

Originally Posted by BhashaZ