Notices
Buying/Leasing 350Z/370Z Purchasing Info

Advice for purchasing a used Z

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2009, 02:54 PM
VQ-350Z

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice for purchasing a used Z

Hi, I'm new on this site as I recently decided to buy a 350Z. I've been after this car for quite a while and given the fact that the economy is not in such a good state right now and that I have some cash, I can finally buy this beauty of a car! I currenlty drive a V6 Nissan Altima and I needed the space because I'm an architecture student and had to build huge models at the beginning of my career which I had to haul in the Altima. But now, being a fifth year student, I'm not required to make architectural models anymore, and I rarely use the extra space I have on my current car.

Anyway, I recently found a 2004 Touring model with 90,000 miles on it. The seller is willing to sell it to me for 9K. I haven't looked at the car personally but if its in good condition, I think it's a pretty good deal.. honestly, I would prefer a car with less mileage but this is the least expensive one I've found so far. I've encountered some 03' models with half that mileage selling for around 10,500 and I'm willing to spend a little more money on a car that's been driven considerably less. What do you all think, is this a good deal? does the car have too many miles? any purchasing suggestions are welcome. Thank you in advance.
Old 04-14-2009, 03:37 PM
davidv

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

90,000 miles may present problems that you cannot see:

Shocks
Wheel bearings
Water pump
Clutch
Brakes
Window motors

You can buy a car and quickly put $2,500 into it. So there is no free lunch. You will pay for mechanical reliability up front (a 350Z with 45,000) or later in repairs (a 350Z with 90,000 miles).
Old 04-14-2009, 04:36 PM
MB33

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

welcome look for something with lower mileage got me an 03 base with 37k for $13000
Old 04-14-2009, 05:31 PM
kyx4n