Notices
Cleaning & Detailing Washing, waxing, cleaning, caring.

Weird streaks on windows.

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2007, 10:26 PM
blazed54

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Weird streaks on windows.

Hi I tried a new brand of waterspot remover for the first time and it's leaving really weird streaks on my window. I have lots of pics to show what i mean but can't seem to get rid of it. I've used claybar, my normal brand or waterspot remover (bought a diff brand cause i'm low on the reg stuff and need to order it online). also used vinegar distilled with water and rain x. NOTHING works. The thing is that when completely dry it looks normal and clean and glass is smooth. but the moment water touches it all hell breaks loose and it could probably endanger my driving since i used it on all 4 window.

PLease HELP!!!.

Pic of the junk waterspot remover called mx-7....

Pics of the water on windows

Old 10-09-2007, 01:12 AM
RWP350

im a professional detailer at JN automotive in nimitz and i do have 2 types of water spot remover creme and acid that will help you solve your problem. If you want some, you can stop by JN automotives. ill pm my #.
Old 10-09-2007, 04:42 AM
Detailed Image
Sponsor
Detailed Image

Ouch sorry to hear about your situation. I'm not a glass expert but I'll share with you what I think is going on. Glass is a very hard surface to polish as compared to a clear coat. Therefore the formula you used may have strong cutting particles in it, which may have added many fine scratches to the glass. The waves of lines look like the pattern of an arm motion. If you worked the polish in longer by machine you may have been able to smooth it out more or you may need to follow it up with a lighter polish to finish it down smoother. I would suggest getting it fixed ASAP for your safety. Most insurance companies are relatively friendly towards windshield replacements. Good luck and let us know how you make out.

Greg @ Detailed Image
Old 10-09-2007, 05:02 AM