Notices
Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

Any tuning shop offering modification packages with advertised results?

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2006, 06:06 PM
hunter6

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Any tuning shop offering modification packages with advertised results?

I've been trolling the site for about 8 months now and one thing I've yet to see is tuning shops offering "package" deals with advertised results. For example, when I used to check out the F-body and Mustang sites they always had vendors offering exhaust x, heads y, and pulley z as a package which resulted in xx horsepower increase, etc, etc.

I notice some shops offering single parts and/or multiple parts that will yield xx horsepower/tq but it leaves me guessing as to what the combination of various parts will provide. Are there any shops out there taking this package approach to selling aftermarket items? For example (hypothetical) a stage one is an aftermarket exhaust and crank pulley that gets you 9hp and quicker revs, stage two includes stage one but adds headers and 3.9 final drive yielding 5 more hp and .2 seconds of your 0-60, and stage three gets you all that plus the MREV2 and a tune for 10 more hp and .3 seconds off your quatermile. I have no idea what actual combos or results would be but I wonder why the smart guys haven't put anything like this together yet? Is it becasue NA modification is truely a waste of time? Or is someone doing it and I'm just not aware?

For those of us looking for solid, predictable gains at a known price I think package deals would be attractive?

My .$02
Old 09-29-2006, 08:46 PM
the7ferret

Old 09-30-2006, 05:36 AM
davidv

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Online retailers offer performance mods (such as exhaust) with horsepower claims. The claims are often exaggerated because of the method of testing. Take the worst of 3 base runs. Then the best of 3 after-mod runs them advertise the difference.