Notices
Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

SOHC and DOHC, whats the big deal?

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2003, 07:15 PM
Inova

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SOHC and DOHC, whats the big deal?

Sorry for being such a newbie, I did a serach and found nothing and thought I would post this here.. Anyway, I've read SOHC and DOHC in the magazines and want to learn more about it. I know that it means Single/Double, but what is the big deal between the 2?
Old 03-30-2003, 08:34 PM
PrototypeRacer

Single Over Head Cam.... ^

Dual Over Head Cam.... ^^
Old 03-30-2003, 09:22 PM
Inova

Hhaha, I know THAT much.. what is the difference performance-wise. How does that change the way the engine works etc..
Old 03-31-2003, 03:21 AM
mikersoft

I'm no mechanic, but I'll take a shot a this one... My guess is with DOHC, one cam controls intake valves & the other controls exhaust valves. That allows more differences between intake and exhuast valve lift/duration. Thus, engineers have more ways to fine tune performance when designing an engine. With a SOHC, the one cam controls both intake and exhaust.

OK real mechanics, how close was I?

-Mike
Old 03-31-2003, 11:40 AM
bluetouring350

SOHC has one set of cams controlling intake and exhaust where as DOHC has two pairs controlling intake and exhaust, for a total of 4 cams. Basically it makes for a more efficient motor and more power. But it sucks when oyu want to buy new camshafts cuz you got to buy four insteads of two so instead of $600 it costs us more like $1200.
Old 03-31-2003, 11:47 AM
91na

so SOHC is still really 2 cams in the engine?

My friend went to a rather "illegite" looking auto place to get a "performance cam" for his Rustang. He still hasn't received it (I personally think he lost his money) but even if he didnt he only ordered 1.

Can you just get 1 cam to control either the inlet or exhaust or do you have to get both?