Notices
Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

No oil pressure on new NA build

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2009, 06:24 PM
billstein87

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default No oil pressure on new NA build

Hey experts, I'm hoping you can help! I got my '03 z a couple months ago and had to rebuild the motor 2 weeks later (long story). It is very fresh with a new block, pistons, etc including a new oil pump. all stock stuff from Nissan Motorsports. I meant to fill the new pump wiith oil before i buttoned it up but i forgot. I just finished spinning it over without the plugs to build pressure and I cannot get any oil to move. I'm sure I put the o-rings in, but since i've never built this motor before who knows if I missed something. Any ideas for common mistakes, or do you think the new dry pump may be struggling to prime? All ideas welcome.

Not much diagnosis so far. I didn't see any oil going into the head while looking thru the filler tube. I pulled the oil filter and nada, nothing, zilch, dry as a bone.

thanks,
bill

Last edited by billstein87; 06-18-2009 at 06:54 PM.
Old 06-21-2009, 04:46 AM
billstein87

Hey Bill,
Sorry to hear that. I have never heard opf that happening, but before you start tearing into the front or bottom end, i would see if I could force some oil backwards through either the oil filter or oil pressure sensor holes.

good Luck!
Old 06-21-2009, 04:47 AM
billstein87

Hey Thanks Billstein87! It worked! My Z is back on the road.

Thanks,
Bill
Old 06-23-2009, 07:20 PM
Sharif@Forged
Sponsor
Forged Performance

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Do not dry to prime the VQ35 as you've done...you can do some serious damage to the engine. Fire up the engine, and be done with it.
Old 07-01-2009, 06:16 PM
billstein87

Originally Posted by Sharif@Forged
Do not dry to prime the VQ35 as you've done...you can do some serious damage to the engine. Fire up the engine, and be done with it.