Notices
Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

Built Shortblock Assembly Questions

Old 07-22-2012, 05:13 PM
mx594

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Built Shortblock Assembly Questions

OK I am a noob when it comes to engine building, and I have some basic questions. I bought a built shortblock from IPP. I have the old engine fully disassembled, and the heads are off. The heads are coming off a perfectly good ~40K mile engine and I have no reason to believe they aren't flat. I am basically ready to start re-assembling with the new block. So here come the questions:

1. I assume it is standard practice to get the heads cleaned, checked for flatness and checked for leaks, is that true? I know I can check the flatness myself, but it seems like the cleaning would need to be done in a hot tank, which I do not have, and I certainly don't have any way to check the valves for leaks. Can any engine shop do this? What does it cost typically?

2. When I go to re-assemble the lifters and cams and whatnot, is there some type of assembly lube I should use, or just coat everything in regular engine oil?

3. Is there anything else I should do before I start putting it back together? I have L19's and HR headgaskets, a revup oil pump and an ATI fluidamper.

Thanks!
Old 07-22-2012, 05:49 PM
graffkid732

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts

I would do a lot more research or just have someone build the motor for you since it seems like you are unsure on a lot of things. It's costing me $2200 for assembly and machine work for my block. Probably cost little less for you since my work is probably much more involved than what you're looking for.
Old 07-22-2012, 10:05 PM
Exemption

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

1) u dont have to...but your gonna run into problems. Take the heads apart and havr them machined and decked. Any machine shop should be able to do this. Shouldnt be any more than 100 per head for what your asking.